Tibbie Stakes Race Information

The Tibbie Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for fillies and mares run by the Newcastle Jockey Club in September. It is held at Newcastle on the same day as the Newcastle Gold Cup..

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, fillies & mares
  • Track: Broadmeadows Racecourse, Newcastle, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Friday 15 September 2023

Tibbie Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Tibbie Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Tibbie Stakes Preview and results.

It became a Listed race in 2005 and was upgraded to a Group 3 race in 2013.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1400m): Moti (2009) 1:22:37

Leading trainers: Gai Waterhouse with 4 wins (Vaquera 2913; More Strawberries 2011; Moti 2009; Yolo 2006)

Interesting trivia: Race not run in 2007 due to equine influenza. Guy Walter trained the first four home in the 20005 race with Shalimar Sky, Fantasia, Johan’s Toy and Hennessy Waltz.

Past winners of the Tibbie Stakes

Winners of past Tibbie Stakes include Princess Posh (2018), Zanbagh (2017), She’s Clean (2015), Nocturnelle (2012), More Strawberries (2011), Vintedge (2010), Miss Pageantry (2008) and Shalimar Sky (2005).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Banana Queen Sanstoc Mirra View
2022 Hope In Your Heart Riduna Katalin
2021 Madam Legend Mirra Vision Great News
2020 All Saints’ Eve Yamazaki Wandabaa
2019 Sweet Deal Notation Connemara
2018 Princess Posh Savatiano Irithea
2017 Zanbagh Perfect Rhyme Hetty Heights
2016 Spirit Bird Filou Savoureux
2015 She’s Clean Two Blue Sultry Feeling
2014 Fine Bubbles I’m In The Money Gold Epona
2013 Vaquera Gold Epona Cameo
2012 Nocturnelle New Beginning Irish Dream
2011 More Strawberries Skyerush Sweetest Melody
2010 Vintedge Hidden Wonder Ashlee’s Jewel
2009 Moti Patronyme Illuminates
2008 Miss Pageantry Maybe I Tijuana
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Yolo Gawne China Jade
2005 Shalimar Sky Fantasia Johan’s Toy
2004 St Jessie Magsaya Hennessy Waltz
2003 Imperatrix Native Jester Reve
2002 Miss Zoe Airlie Bird Our Earth Star
2001 Expresso Rose Interbank Picholine