JJ Atkins Race Information

The JJ Atkins is a 1600 metre race for two-year-olds run by the Brisbane Racing Club. It is held under set weight conditions during June at Eagle Farm and is on Stradbroke Handicap Day.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland (moved to Doomben for 2017 and 2018)
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 15 June 2024

JJ Atkins Race History

See the 2024 JJ Atkins Preview and results.

See the 2023 JJ Atkins Preview and results.

See the 2022 JJ Atkins Preview and results.

See the 2021 JJ Atkins Preview and results.

The JJ Atkins was first run in 1893 as the Claret Stakes over 6 furlongs (about 1200 metres) and was won by Common. In 1905 the distance increased to 7 furlongs and in 1955 it increased again to 8 furlongs. It gained Group 1 status in 1985 and was a handicap race for most of its history, only becoming a set weight race in 2007. In 2017 and 2018 it was switched to Doomben because of issues with the track surface at Eagle Farm.

Claret Stakes, Sir Robert Herbert Stakes, RU Sloman Claret Stakes, QTC Marlborough Stakes, QTC Castlemaine Stakes and QTC Classic are some of the names this race has gone by before becoming the TJ Smith Classic from 1999 to 2012 in honour of the great Sydney trainer Tommy Smith who died in 1998. In 2013 it became the JJ Atkins.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Sheeza Belter (2022)

Fastest time (1600m): Outback Ptrince (2003) 1:34:10

Interesting trivia:

Previous winners of the JJ Atkins

Colts and geldings carry 57kg and fillies carry 55kg in the JJ Atkins. The major lead-up race is the Group 2 Sires Produce Stakes over 1400 metres at Eagle Farm. Winners of both races include Pressday (2010), Lovely Jubly (2002), Juanmo (2001), Al Mansour (1997), Anthems (1996), Mahogany (1993) and Slight Chance (1992).

This race is the only Group 1 event for two-year-olds in the Brisbane Winter Carnival and it is also the last Group race of the racing year (August 1 to July 31) for two-year-olds, which gives it an elite status. The winners of the JJ Atkins will  normally go on to bigger and better things when they return as three-year-olds and past winners include horses like Luskin Star (1977), Tristram’s Edition (1985). Flotilla (1987) and Zeditave (1988).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Broadsiding Bittercreek Bosustow
2023 King Colorado Miracle Of Love Tannhauser
2022 Sheeza Belter Political Debate Brosnan
2021 Converge Giannis Tiger Of Malay
2020 Rothfire Gotta Kiss The Drinks Cart
2019 Prince Fawaz Kubrick Reloaded
2018 The Autumn Sun Zousain Fundamentalist
2017 Capital Gain Aloisia (NZ) Taking Aim
2016 Sacred Elixir (NZ) Charnley River Heart Skipt A Beat
2015 Press Statement Sagaronne Look To The Stars
2014 Almalad Brazen Beau Looks Like The Cat
2013 Romantic Touch Zoustar Paximadia
2012 Sizzling Kabayan Academus
2011 Benfica Hot Snitzel Playtime
2010 Pressday Ringa Ringa Rosie American Crew
2009 Linky Dink (NZ) Spot On Target Southport
2008 Rockdale (NZ) Baci Amore Fravashi
2007 Apercu Tripitz Masked Assassin
2006 Reigning To Win Danleigh Carry To Glory
2005 Darci Brahma (NZ) Ready As Daemons
2004 Outback Prince Star Shiraz Lords A Leaping
2003 Picaday Promoted Ambulance
2002 Lovely Jubly Top Echelon Sir Breakfast
2001 Juanmo Barawin Evander
2000 Show A Heart Lady Mulan (NZ) Rapid Man
1999 Freemason Perfect Paradise I Realise
1998 Mossman Lease Curio Jade
1997 Al Mansour Evader Freedom Road
1996 Anthems Tambour Dayton
1995 Ravarda Isolda Donar
1994 Just A Printer Aragen Chief De Beers
1993 Mahogany Waikikamukau Seascay
1992 Slight Chance Palate Salcantay
1991 Zinders Kinjite Good ‘N’ Fast
1990 Chime Zam Marine Drive Derecho
1989 Prince Salieri Stargazer Dr Grace
1988 Zeditave Aces And Kings Reasoning
1987 Flotilla Hunter Gold Trump
1986 One Guinea Gallery Level Tristram
1985 Tristram’s Edtion Rass Flyer Swiftly Roman
1984 Prince Frolic Red Anchor Mr Merrymaker
1983 Regal Advice Riverdale High Cliff
1982 Anchor In Cossack Prince Rubena Boy
1981 Copperama Sovereign Chief Silver Lei
1980 Royal Paree Our Paddy Boy Playboy Prince
1979 Zephyr Zip Vivacite Knight’s Affair
1978 Scomeld Karaman Regular
1977 Luskin Star Gypsy Kingdom Pacific Prince
1976 Romantic Dream Family Of Man Surround

From the archives:

JJ Atkins Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Soft   Weather: Showers

There is a field of 14 two-year-olds for the $600,000 2018 Jaguar Land Rover J.J. Atkins, including 4 fillies. The short-priced favourite is The Autumn Sun who has 2 runs for 2 Randwick wins. Second favourite is BRC Sires’ Produce winner Lean Mean Machine who has 2 wins and 2 places from 4 starts. Third favouritism is shared between Zousain who ran 2nd in the BRC Sires’ Produce, and Fundamentalist who charged home late for 2nd in the SA Sires Produce last outing.

Sizzling Ace and Boomsara tied for 3rd in the BRC Sires Produce, Sesar ran 5th and Plumaro was 8th.  Home Ground has won his last 2 starts but is taking a huge step up in grade. The remaining five runners are all over $46.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
5 The Autumn Sun
1 Lean Mean Machine
11 Fundamentalist
2  Zousain