The Four Pillars Race Information

The Four Pillars is a 1500 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club on Golden Eagle/Victoria Derby day. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival and is for trainers eligible for Midway races.

  • Race Type: Feature (not a Group race)
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: BM 68 handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 4 November 2023

The Four Pillars Race History

See the 2023 Four Pillars Preview and results.

See the 2022 Four Pillars Preview and results.

The inaugural The Four Pillars for three-year-olds and upwards will be run at Rosehill on October 30 2021 as a Benchmark 68 handicap race over 1500m. It is open to city and provincial trainers who are eligible to have Midway runners.

The prizemoney of $700,000 make it a very attractive race and the field will have 18 starters.

It is run on the same day as The Golden Eagle, which is the same date as Victoria Derby day in Melbourne.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Oakfield Arrow (2022)

Last 3YO to win: C&G  Kiss Sum (2021); Filly –

Multiple winners:

Fastest time (1500m): 1: 29.02 Kiss Sum (2021)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of The Four Pillars

The race was run for the first time in 2021.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Sweet Mercy
2022 Oakfield Arrow Awesome Lad Lemaire
2021 Kiss Sum Dufresne Divine Breath