Tasmanian Guineas Race Information

The Tasmanian Guineas is a 1600 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the Tasmanian Racing Club in late December. It is held at Hobart as part of the Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Hobart Racecourse, Hobart, Tasmania
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Sunday 27 December 2020

Tasmanian Guineas Race History

The 2020 running of this race will be rescheduled from Sunday 27 December 2020 to Friday 8 January 2021 at Launceston due to the track not being in a satisfactory state.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Still A Star (Jan 2020)

Fastest time (1600m): Mister John (2013) 1:35:78

Leading jockeys: Brendon McCoull with 4 wins (Still A Star 2020; Admiral 2015; Uzigal 2006; Dream Quest 2003).

Interesting trivia: Race not held from 1958 to 1964.

Past winners of the Tasmanian Guineas

Winners of past Tasmanian Guineas include horses that go on to win major races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 (Jan) Swoop Dog First Accused One Lotto
2020 (Jan) Still A Star Argyle Beach Mywordis
2018 The Inevitable Our Long Sali Queen La Diva
2017 Overplay Double You Tee Pateena Arena
2016 Hot Dipped Life On The Wire Zatacla