Tasmanian Derby Race Information

The Tasmanian Derby is a 2200 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the Tasmanian Racing Club in early February. It is held at Hobart as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Hobart Racecourse, Hobart, Tasmania
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Friday 9 February 2024

Tasmanian Derby Race History

See the 2024 Tasmanian Derby Preview and results.

See the 2023 Tasmanian Derby Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1915 as a Principal race over ten furlongs (about 2000m) and was increased to 12 furlongs (about 2400m) in 1924. The race was not held from 1934 to 1947. It became a Group 3 race in 1980 and was won by a horse called Godsend. In 2005 the distance was reduced from 2400m to 2100m and the following year it became the current 2200m distance. It was a Group 3 race to 2011 but from 2012 was downgraded to a Listed race.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Betwixt (2009)

Fastest time (2200m): Jerilderie Letter (2016) 2:15:43

Interesting trivia: In 2020 Vamos Raffa was first across the line but was later disqualified due to an irregular swab and Skyt who had finished 2 lengths 2nd was promoted to first.

Past winners of the Tasmanian Derby

Winners of past Tasmanian Derbys include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Bold Soul Gold Wolf Stardealt
2023 Dunkel Abrupt Cable Dancer
2022 The Nephew Ashy Boy Dodgy One
2021 Explosive Jack Alloway Swoop Dog
2020 Skyt Argyle Beach Rogues Point
2019 Cossetot Glass Warrior Twilight Run
2018 Civil Disobedience Wolfendale Pennstock
2017 Northwest Passage French Snitzel Igitur
2016 Jerilderie Letter Howard Be Thy Name Al Shameel
2015 Geegees Classicboy Shiralee Valdez
2014 Liberty Leader Rainbow Storm Varian
2013 Ollie’s Gold Keep The Cash Strive To Excel
2012 Methuselah Barysh Quest Colonial Gold
2011 Mourinho Heez Born Lucky Jay Bee’s Gee Gee
2010 Geegees Blackflash Kinnersley Coulis
2009 Betwixt Reprisal Brunello
2008 Mega Boss Arazamataz Dream Pedlar
2007 Currigee Minibaa Rhumb Line
2006 Esterel Pride Of Westbury Jeune Cheval
2005 Phantom Thief Stuyvesant Expunge
2004 Almost Never Little Baldy Uma King
2003 Dream Quest Irish Noble Birle’s Gamble
2002 Moonah Brooke Our Bullbaa Marette
2001 Party Boy Us And Maka Jones
2000 Father Floyd Fitzroy Fitzroy Yuppie
1999 Star Of Nime Naucho Lord Baracus
1998 Suavity Bohemiath Flying Swallow
1997 Ventura Prince Baracus Maximal
1996 Devon Sun Sunny Lane Nutcracker Suite
1995 Napier Street Loch Valley Vaudeville Piper
1994 Ashley Grove Arranger Star Dancing Cossack
1993 Pax-A-Million Ritzy Red Golden Serpent
1992 Charleston Party Baron Samedi Party Game
1991 My Latin Boy Haron Bay Devon Blaze
1990 King Of Belmont Drumming Sonny Bumpus
1989 Bar Landy Sydeston Sistino
1988 Firetap Dashing Kiwi Mountain Gamble
1987 How’s Sovereign Strider Shykoski
1986 Pavista How’s Moon Ray Prairie Rare
1985 Royal Work The Bairn Work Order
1984 So Brikay Forest Gun Exdirectory
1983 Mr Jazz Santo Charvino Mansingh Boy
1982 Palomine Erato Gold Finder
1981 Pass The Baton Mr Squirrel Century Proof
1980 Godsend Fair Bounty Hannekes Gentleman
1979 Hilton Place Park Pride Midlane
1978 Aparangi Sweet Maria Luck’s A Fortune
1977 Royal Eclare Somerset Lass Pavastre
1976 Papuan Boy Kirkby Lodge Dybulbas
1975 Pepinella Somerset Lane Marciano
1974 Spirit Lover Cardinal Courage Callyapple
1973 Silastre Rocky Star Cardinal Copy
1972 Sabre Time To Explode Caveat
1971 Beau Bobben Terraline Firing
1970 Maefred Rasputin Bonne Patrice
1969 Red Tornado Mystic Lane Capri Girl
1968 Champollion Live Print Braedalla
1967 Scots Lad Winndalla Call Again
1966 Hayworth Allawood Roncali
1965 Arctic Beau Speak Low Tierson
1964 Haughty Boy Roman Crown Paddy’s Head
1963   ** Race not run **
1962 Mayno La Guardia Roscoe
1961 Gay Legis Fair Jill Zarastra
1960 Empuros Weona Fino’s Folly
1959   ** Race not run **
1958   ** Race not run **
1957 New Link Red Pampas Lady Hepburn
1956 Top Bale Beau Thorn Doom Klof
1955 Dialyn Prince Speckle Imitate
1954 Rosefield Jollyboat Baby Ribbon
1953 Flying Legend L’Enjeu Correas
1952 Don Zalva Karabelle Altinga
1951 Tasmans isle Prince Felt Southern Breeze
1950 Touareg Sir Legis Vibrant
1949 Finical Phoebus Cheiron
1948 Nifty Lass Surmount Mount Pat
1947   ** Race not run **
1946    ** Race not run **
1945    ** Race not run **
1944    ** Race not run **
1943    ** Race not run **
1942    ** Race not run **
1941    ** Race not run **
1940    ** Race not run **
1939    ** Race not run **
1938    ** Race not run **
1937    ** Race not run **
1936    ** Race not run **
1935    ** Race not run **
1934    ** Race not run **
1933 Gabbler Sea Nance Polite
1932 Higbroney Manessa Princess Shevah
1931 Ganelon Scarlet Token Timur
1930 Monaroi
1929 Emelita Wolcott Bobbagee
1928 Lampra
 (dead heat 1st) Alphaeus
1927 Prince Viol Night Glare King Prophet
1926 Oomir Sirecca Beausire
1925 Desmaidire Wookar Royal Simon
1924 Head Girl Kura Whera Coolidge
1923 Danton King Diff Hae Laddie
1922 Seignorina Delphenium Miewalle
1921 Norse Song Rikki Tikki Electrolytic
1920 Talisman Prubron Midinette
1919 Harvesten Thrapple Kemanuka
1918 Princess Vimy Laird
 (dead heat 2nd)
1917 Carlaverock Miss Simplicity Nadir Shah
1916 Daimler Daily Mirror Carry On
1915 Tasman’s Isle Light Action Ralph The Rower