Tapp-Craig Race Information

The Tapp-Craig is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Australian Turf Club in October. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Feature (not a Group race)
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 7 October 2023

Tapp-Craig Race History

See the 2023 Tapp-Craig Preview and results.

See the 2022 Tapp-Craig Preview and results.

This is a new race that was introduced in 2022 to honour two legendary racecallers in Sydney – John Tapp and Ian Craig. It is designed as a lead-up to the Stan Fox Stakes, which will be renamed as the Callander-Presnell, two weeks later. The renaming is to honour racing media personalities Ken Callander and Max Presnell.

It was held at Randwick in 2022 and Rosehill in 2023

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Makarena (2023)

Fastest time (1400m): 1:22.09 (2023)

Interesting trivia: Fillies have won the first 2 runnings.

Past winners of the Tapp-Craig.

The race was run for the first time in 2022.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Makarena Razors Snapback
2022 Opal Ridge Pericles Dashing Legend