St Albans Stakes Race Information

The St Albans Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in March. It is held at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

St Albans Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Valley Pearl/St Albans Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Valley Pearl Preview and results.

The race has been run under many different names and the distance has changed several times. In 2000 it was held as the William Inglis Cup over 1000m and in 2008 the distance was increased to 1200m and it was run as the St Albans Stakes. In 2010 it dropped back to 1000m and then became 1200m again in 2012.

Previously  in the 1980s and 1990s it was the Great Western Champagne Stakes over 1000m on Cox Plate day.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Scorched Earth (2021)

Fastest time (1200m): Cheer Leader (2019) 1:10:40

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the St Albans Stakes

Winners of past St Albans Stakes include horses that go on to win major autumn races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Growing Empire Bittercreek Sassy Jenni
2023 Brave Mead Ana Jaahza Celestial Storm
2022 Crosswinds Nanagui All Sassed Up
2021 Scorched Earth Dio Wizard Of Oz
2020 Larimer Street Vangelic Pioneer River
2019 Cheer Leader Mayan Free Thrills
2018 Chess Star Wild Planet Thrillster
2017 Doubt I’m Dreaming Showtime Safin
2016 Zamzam Legless Veuve Gloriette
2015 Calaverite Miss Idyllic Indarra
2014 London Lolly Orujo Bring Me The Maid
2013 Cruden Bay Gracious Prospect Excitable Boy
2012 Underestimation How Swede It Is Tennessee Wills
2011 Golden Archer Chinchilla Sparks Burn
2010   ** Race not run **
2009 Roulettes Flokkati Ebony Rock
2008 Exceedingly French Musigny Flawless Gem
2007 All American Hybrid Confounded
2006 Cinq Rouge Royal Asscher Superfly
2005 I Got Chills Anticipation Accurate Gun
2004 Seidnazar Quarterman Moon Fever
2003 Oratorio Find The Cash Marie Madeleine
2002 Pinchbeck Ra Sun Express Ball
2001 Bel Esprit Bella Vichy Cousy
2000 Develan Super Blitz Irruption
1999 Little Miss Marnie Veteran Queen
1998 Monde Vert Neverland Prince Benbara
1997 Spellmaker Mister Bow Randy’s Rancher
1996 Sports Aces Royale Don’t Say Goodbye
1995 Flavour Winger Charger Bira
1994 Exclusive Halo Frosty the Snowman Hon Kwok Treasure
1993 Rustessence Just Dance On Tennessee Morn
1992 Miss Prospect Overshadow Sandpiper
1991 Zodiac Miss She’s A Pipe Dream Gold Design
1990 Raise A Rhythm Amaia Lady Bakhem
1989 Flash Fighter Marble Vein Flying Rory
1988 Appleby Fair Double Impulse Ark Regal
1987 King’s High Trendy Bay Such Friction
1986 Lord Tiamo Marwong Above Deck
1985 Indeed I Do Lord Mornington Claws
1984 Stockavion Lord Of The Vale Stand ‘Em Up
1983 Kentish Fyigia Star The Senator