Scone Cup Race Information

The Scone Cup is a 1600 metre quality handicap race run by the Scone Race Club in May. It is held at Scone on a Friday in mid-May as a highlight of the autumn Scone Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Scone Racecourse, Scone, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date:Friday 17 May 2024

Scone Cup Race History

See the 2024 Scone Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Scone Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 Scone Cup Preview and results.

The race was first held on Wednesday 7 May in 1947 over 7 and a quarter furlongs (about 1460m) where the prizemoney was 350 pounds and a Cup donated by Messrs F.W. Moses and F.L. Bragg. It was won by Mr P Jenkins aged gelding Precise trained by L Jurd with the favourite Smart Alick running second and Wearie running 3rd in a field of 20.

It became a Listed race in 2006.

The winner is eligible for The Big Dance.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Sedanzer (2018)

Multiple winners: Brave Prince (2000 & 2001)

Fastest time (1600m): Keepin’ The Dream (2010) 1:34:26

Interesting trivia: The 1948 Cup was won by one-eyed galloper Brekko.

Past winners of the Scone Cup

Winners of past Scone Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Sky Lab Waterford Lion’s Roar
2023 Commando Hunt Luncies Acquitted
2022 Rustic Steel Dr Drill Atishu
2021 Laure Me In Looks Like Elvis Order Again
2020 Dr Drill Phaistos Sambro
2019 Special Missile Fierce Impact Goldstream
2018 Sedanzer Duca Valentinois Kingsguard
2017 Duca Valentinois God’s In Him Pajaro
2016 Pajaro Amovatio Malice
2015 Tales Of Grimm Frespanol San Diego
2014 Cameo Full Of Spirit Loaded
2013 Speediness Mouro Kaypers
2012 Raspberries Izababe Lightinthenite
2011 Dysphonia Willy Jimmy Mr Unforgettable
2010 Keepin’ The Dream Snow Alert Tagus
2009 Obvious Choice My Sweet Cookie Soiled
2008 Newton’s Rings Mr Ubiquitous Life’s Too Short
2007 Spy Zaim Flaming Rumbird
2006 Fighting Fund Diamond Sun But I’m Serious
2005 Impaler Tall Timbers Fiery Venture
2004 Jeremiad Precise Timing Maskerado
2003 Full On Magic Make Me a Miracle Kerouac
2002 Huge Demand Royal Integrity Sea Jester
2001 Brave Prince Adamantly Hunter Winemaker
2000 Brave Prince Asante Pyramid Park