Sandown Stakes Race Information

The Sandown Stakes is a 1500 metre quality handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in late September or early October. It is held at Sandown Hillside during the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Sandown Hillside Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Sunday 1 October 2023

Sandown Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Sandown Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Sandown Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Sandown Stakes Preview and results

Previously run on Zipping Classic Day in mid – November, it was moved to Underwood Stakes Day in 2021.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Mamzelle Pedrille (1995)

Last 3YO to win: C&G = Fifty Stars (2018); Filly – no filly has won

Multiple winners: Mahisara (2012 & 2013).

Fastest time (1500m): Mahisara (2012) 1:29:20

Interesting trivia: Charmed Harmony (2015) carried the highest weight to win – 58 kg.

Past winners of the Sandown Stakes

Winners of past Sandown Stakes include Fifty Stars (2018), Redkirk Warrior (2016), Pornichet (2014), Mahisara (2012 & 2013), Under The Eiffel (2011), Swick (2006), Titanic Jack (2005), Chong Tong (2003),  Cut Up Rough (1997), Mamzelle Pedrille (1995), Another Victor (1994), Wrap Around (1991), Procol Harum (1990), Luther’s Luck (1987), New Atlantis (1986) and Showmeran (1982).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Antino Here To Shock Superium
2022 Gentleman Roy Military Expert Pinstriped
2021 Elephant Romancer Harbour Views
2020 Junipal Kenya Buffalo River
2019 Gold Fields Mr Exclusive Travimyfriend
2018 Fifty Stars Holy Snow Fastnet Tempest
2017 Dollar For Dollar Hellova Street Moss ‘n’ Dale
2016 Redkirk Warrior Stratum Star Un De Sceaux
2015 Charmed Harmony Tashbeeh Burning Front
2014 Pornichet General Groove Spacecraft
2013 Mahisara Go The Knuckle Galah
2012 Mahisara Morant Raspberries
2011 Under The Eiffel Sistine Angel Orbit Express
2010 Larry’s Never Late Demerit Rockpecker
2009 Nine Tales Jungle Ruler Itsamonty
2008 Chasm Marching Orbit Express
2007 Gotta Have Heart Royal Ida Great Is Great
2006 Swick Anwaar Cargo Cult
2005 Titanic Jack Zankel Chickaloo
2004 Amtrak Smart And Mighty Shadowmaker
2003 Chong Tong Lord Volksraad Green Pick
2002 Salgado Mr Magoo Lord Erin
2001 Little Dozer Le Zagaletta Dynamic Love
2000 Normal Practice Ab Initio Cellar
1999 Buster Jones Royal Voyage Evocative
1998 Any Rhythm Oliver Twist Major Victory
1997 Cut Up Rough He’s Regal Coaltar
1996 Wavertree Royal Discard Nick On The Run
1995 Mamzelle Pedrille Taos Monsieur
1994 Another Victor Rouslan Blue Boss
1993 Monsieur Defoe Street Ruffian
1992 Minyama Carolingian Beppiz Boy
1991 Wrap Around Welcome Knight Steineck
1990 Procol Harum Grey Man Marwong
1989 Marabou’s Phantom Black Blaze Heavenly View
1988 Rendoo Jet Fighter Crush
1987 Luther’s Luck Stable Gossip Targlish
1986 New Atlantis Sapphire Lad Baptize
1985 Jurisdiction Knight Of Avon Beaumont Babe
1984 Mr Ironclad Mighty Avenger Ranger’s Son
1983 Vivacite Torbek Sports Ruler
1982 Showmeran Honest Promise Atropine
1981 Tower Belle Crepellox Aquatorial