Sandown races are run at Sandown Park Racecourse, which is now known as Ladbrokes Park. The Sandown racecourse actually has two racetracks called the Lakeside and Hillside racecourses.

Sandown is the only metropolitan racecourse built in the 20th century. Sandown was first built in 1965 and then redeveloped by the Melbourne Racing Club in 2003.

The redevelopment of the Sandown racecourse saw two tracks made. These are called the Sandown Lakeside and the Sandown Hillside Racecourses. Both courses rise uphill in the straight, which benefits those horses with stamina and those with a strong finish.

The Sandown racing complex is also used as a quarantine centre for overseas horses that head to Australia for the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Sandown Lakeside Racecourse Details

State: Victoria
Circumference: 1857 Meters
Direction: anti-clockwise
Straight: 407 Metres

Sandown Hillside Racecourse Details

Circumference: 2087 Meters
Direction: anti-clockwise
Straight: 491 Metres

Major Sandown Park Races – Group Races

• Sandown Classic
• Sandown Guineas
• Sandown Stakes

The Melbourne Racing Club conducts 36 race meetings at the Sandown Racecourse but doesn’t host any Group 1 races at Sandown Races. However, they do have two Group 2 events, the Sandown Classic and the Sandown Guineas while the Sandown Stakes is a Group 3 event.

Sandown Park Racecourse Map

View Larger Map

Address: Cnr Springvale Rd and Princes Hwy, Springvale, VIC 3171, Australia
Telephone: (03) 9518 1353

Getting to Sandown Races

As with the majority of Australian racetracks, you can get to the races via public transports. To get to Sandown Park Racecourse by train you have to take the Cranbourne or Pakenham line with a 40 minute train ride from Flinders Street Station dropping you off at the Sandown Park Railway Station.