Sandown Guineas Race Information

The Sandown Guineas is a 1600 metre set weight race for three-year-olds run by the Melbourne Racing Club in mid-November. It is run at Sandown towards the end of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Sandown Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 December 2023

Sandown Guineas Race History

See the 2023 Sandown Guineas Preview and results

See the 2022 Sandown Guineas Preview and results

See the 2021 Sandown Guineas Preview and results

See the 2020 Sandown Guineas Preview and Results

Normally run at Sandown (as the name suggests) it is transferred to Caulfield for 2021.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: See You In Heaven (2022)

Fastest time (1600m): Scenic Warrior (2000) and Voting (1993) 1:34:6

Interesting trivia: Durbridge (1990) is the only Sandown Guineas winner to also win an AJC Derby.

Past winners of the Sandown Guineas

Winners of past Sandown Guineas include horses that go on to win major  races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Serasana Arkansaw Kid Vivy Air
2022 See You In Heaven The Fortune Teller Kings Consort
2021 Blue Army Blazerro Festival Dancer
2020 Allibor Sweet Reply Valanetti
2019 Pretty Brazen Conqueror Heart Of Puissance
2018 Ringerdingding Seabrook Long Leaf
2017 Villermont Peaceful State Black Sail
2016 Morton’s Fork Ruthven Jennifer Lynn
2015 Mahuta Dal Cielo Don’t Doubt Mamma
2014 Petrology Stratum Star Berisha
2013 Paximadia Equator Apollo’s Choices
2012 Tatra Lunar Rise Proverb
2011 So Swift Niagara Galah
2010 Pressday Chasse Bigelow
2009 Kidnapped Majestic Music Turf Express
2008 Caymans Marveen Lucky Thunder
2007 Schilling Masked Assassin Wind Shear
2006 Sender Flame Of Sydney Wordsmith
2005 Cayambe Zigotto Aztec Smytzer
2004 Binding Barely A Moment Al Maher
2003 Pay Keys Ikes Dream Delzao
2002 Dextrous Lawsons Storm Cool Azz
2001 Moon Dragon All Courage Rod To Dance
2000 Scenic Warrior Wyndam Special Paradiddle
1999 Over Chattanooga Trousers
1998 Sedation Black Bean Speedy Kids
1997 Special Dane Bluebird The Word Tricove
1996 King Ivor Monets Cove Kentucky Blue
1995 Peep On The Sly Saintly Quality Gold
1994 Baryshnikov Perfect World Dapper Spirit
1993 Voting Tenor Bellzevir
1992 Navy Seal Picnicker Baskerville
1991 Star Video Enjoy Dancing Laranto