Sandown Cup Race Information

The Sandown Cup is a 3200 metre open handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in November. It is normally held at Sandown Hillside at the end of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 3200 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Sandown Hillside Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: May/June 2023

Sandown Cup Race History

See the 2022 Sandown Cup Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Normally run at Sandown (as the name suggests) it was transferred to Caulfield for 2021 and again in 2022. In 2023 it has been rescheduled  into the May/June period of 2024 instead of being run on the same day as the Zipping Classic and the Sandown Guineas (2nd December 2023).

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Gin Martini (2022)

Multiple winners: none yet

Fastest time (3200m): Almoonqith (2015) 3:21:59

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Sandown Cup

Winners of past Sandown Cups include some good staying types.

Year Winner Second Third
2022 Gin Martini Team Captain  Good Idea
2021 Dragon Storm True Marvel Sweet Thomas
2020 Carif Realm Of Flowers San Huberto
2019 Azuro Wall Of Fire Neufbosc
2018 Yogi Azuro Vengeur Masque
2017 Fanatic Swacadelic Gallic Chieftain
2016 Qewy Swacadelic All I Survey
2015 Almoonqith The Offer Grand Marshal
2014 Renew Like A Carousel Shoreham
2013 Caravan Rolls On Like A Carousel Crafty Cruiser
2012 Ibicenco Reuben Percival Unusual Suspect