Queensland Day Stakes Race Information

The Queensland Day Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the Brisbane Racing Club in late May or early June. It is run at Eagle Farm as part of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 June 2023

Queensland Day Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Queensland Day Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Queensland Day Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held over 1400m in 2007 called the Queensland Day 3YO Plate and was won by Reigning To Win. The distance was 1350m from 2010 to 2013, 1200m from 2014 to 2016, then 1350m from 2017 to 2019. It wasn’t run in 2020 because of Covid and was held over 1200m in 2021.

Queensland Day Stakes Facts

Last filly to win: Red Card (2023) – the first filly to win

Fastest time (1200m): 1:09.04 (Eastern Prince 2014)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Queensland Day Stakes

Winners of past Queensland Day Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Red Card Millane Golden Boom
2022 Athelric Arentee Ingratiating
2021 Setanta Mass Destruction Tramonto
2020  ** Race not run **
2019 Vega One Multaja Mishani Hustler
2018 Perast Marsupial Mishani Bullitt
2017 Good Standing Sylpheed I’m A Rippa
2016 Kamacite Mogador Barood
2015 Mohave She’s Miss Devine Durendal
2014 Eastern Prince Agitate Le Val
2013 It’s On The Pocket Carmora Goodheart Success
2012 Morning Captain Trump Meghalaya
2011 Steel Zip Snip ‘N’ Duck Celtic Dancer
2010 Tierqualo Listen Son Purettan
2009 Bold Glance Za Magic Plain Magic
2008 Dalzar Pepperwood My Joliene
2007 Reigning To Win Raheeb Snort