Queensland Cup Race Information

The Queensland Cup is a 2400 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in October. It is held at Doomben as part of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 7 October 2023

Queensland Cup Race History

See the 2023 Queensland Cup Preview and results

See the 2022 Queensland Cup Preview and results

See the 2020 Queensland Cup Preview and results

The Queensland Cup is one of Queensland’s oldest races . It was first held in 1878 and was won by a horse called Premier. In 1880 Canary was the first three-year-old to win the race. In 1882 and 1883 the race was named the Prince of Wales Cup, and in 1887, when Touchstone won for Mr. W. H. Kent, the distance was 1.5 miles (about 2400m). In 1889, when Mr. Kent was again successful with Fernando, the distance was increased to 1.75 miles (about 2800m), but after that the distance was increased to two miles (about 3200m). It was a spring race held in November or early December and was not held from 1942 to 1945.

It was held as a Listed race from 1979 to 2002, except for 2001 when it was run as the Group 3 Queen’s Cup. In 2007 the date was moved to July and made part of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. This was the same year that the Brisbane Cup was downgraded from a Group 1 to a Group 2 and reduced to 2400 metres. It was held at Eagle Farm apart from 2015 and 2017 when it was held at Sunshine Coast. In 2020 it was announced that the Queensland Cup would be moved back to the spring but at a drastically shorter distance of 2200m, meaning that we have lost another 3200m race. It was also moved to Doomben. Possible lead-up races at he new distance will be the Toowoomba Cup over 2000m held two weeks earlier.

In 2021 it was changed back to 2400m at Eagle Farm.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Green Diamond (2000)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Sunset Gem (1970); Filly – Poy Patrol (1930) . These were pre-Christmas 3YOs when the race was run in December.

Multiple winners: Insecure (1998 & 1999); Soft Step (1933 & 1935); Earl Kitchener (1918 & 1919); Splendide (1892 & 1895)

Fastest time (3200m): Native Dawn (1993) 3:18:30


Interesting trivia: When the Brisbane Cup reduced to 2400m this race increased in quality.

Past winners of the Queensland Cup

Winners of past Queensland Cups (up to 2018) were long distance stayers as it was held over 3200m. From 2020 the distance is 2200m

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Fancy Man Parry Sound King Frankel
2022 Fun Fact Seat Of Power Honorable Spirit
2021 Honorable Spirit Lunasnit Fu Ni
2020 Grey Lion Free Fly Too Fastnet Cyclone
2019 Azuro Social Element Yogi
2018 Plot Twist Anton En Avant Megablast
2017 Araldo Junior My Diamantine Pop ‘N’ Scotch
2016 Murphy’s Delight Pop ‘N’ Scotch Viva Espana
2015 Mister Impatience Pop ‘N’ Scotch Monaco Doll
2014 Iggi Pop Pop ‘N’ Scotch Brayroan
2013 Turner Bayou Fifth Column Verdant
2012   ** Race not held **
2011 Tinseltown Smoking Chimneys Raeburn
2010 Solid Billing Dave The Dude Mr Mayfair
2009 Cape Breton Petushki Kerdem
2008 Kerdem Sky Biscuit Rezone
2006 Respect Dicktator Rezone
2005 Double Portion Fires Of Ireland Beau
2004 Regal Punch Navy Blue Kingsrule
2003 Kugelhopf Barhill Up The Bid
2002 Time Signal Yuppie Kugelhopf
2001   ** Race not held **
2000 Green Diamond Lordnor Celtic Revenge
1999 Insecure Koala Kon Yippyio