Poseidon Stakes Race Information

The Poseidon Stakes is a 1100 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Victoria Racing Club in early October. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 October 2020

Poseidon Stakes Race History

See the 2020 Poseidon Stakes Preview and Results

Raced over 1400m until 2018 and 1100m from 2019.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Taraayef (2019)

Fastest time (1100m): Taraayef (2019) 1:03:55

Interesting trivia: 2019 was the first year over 1100m – before then the distance was 1400m.

Past winners of the Poseidon Stakes

Winners of past Poseidon Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 September Run Maha Minhaaj
2019 Taraayef Hawker Hurricane Wayupinthesky
2018 Wild Planet Ranier Khulaasa
2017 Snitzepeg Bravo Tango Sircconi
2016 Inside Agent Magnarock Peacock