Phar Lap Stakes Race Information

The Phar Lap Stakes is a 1500 metre set weights race foe three-year-olds run by the Australian Turf Club in March. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 13 March 2021

Phar Lap Stakes Race History

History coming soon.

Phar Lap Stakes Facts

Last filly to win: Hungry Heart (2021)

Fastest time (1500m): Hungry Heart (2021) 1:27.81

Phar Lap Stakes & Australian Oaks: Verry Elleegant (2019); Unforgotten (2018)

Leading trainers: Chris Waller with 6 wins (Hungry Heart 2021; Funstar 2020; Verry Elleegant 2019; Unforgotten 2018; Foxplay 2017; Winx 2015)

Interesting trivia: Chris Waller trained six winners of this race and they were all fillies.

Past winners of the Phar Lap Stakes

Winners of past Phar Lap Stakes often continue onto the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes (2000m)  at Rosehill at the end of March before targeting a Royal Randwick Group 1 during ‘The Championships’ in the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) or the Group 1 ATC Oaks (2400m) for the fillies.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Hungry Heart The Irishman Impecunious
2020 Funstar Probabeel Quick Thinker
2019 Verry Elleegant Seabrook Aristia
2018 Unforgotten Holy Snow Hiyaam
2017 Foxplay Zenalicious Cosmic Set