Percy Sykes Stakes Race Information

The Percy Sykes Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for two-year-old fillies run by the Australian Turf Club in April. It is run at Randwick as part of the ATC Championships series.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 2YO fillies
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 13 April 2024

Percy Sykes Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Percy Sykes Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Percy Sykes Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Percy Sykes Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Principal Race over 6 furlongs (about 1200m) in 1960 called the Keith Mackay Handicap and was won by Primrose Lane. In 1970 and 1971 it was held over 7 furlongs (about 1400m) then in 1972 the distance became 1200m. In 1979 it became a Listed Race, in 1984 and 1985 the distance was 1400m before returning to the current 1200m from 1986 onwards. It 2014 it was upgraded to a Group 3 race and the name was changed to the Royal Randwick Stakes. From 2015 onwards it has been held as the Percy Sykes Stakes. In 2017 it was upgraded to the current Group 2 status.

Percy Sykes Stakes Facts

Fastest time (1200m): Anaheed (2020) 1:09.67

Interesting trivia: Fastnet Rock sired Missrock (2016), Shoals (2017) and Anaheed (2019)

Past winners of the Percy Sykes Stakes

Winners of past Percy Sykes Stakes include horses that go on to win good races

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Eneeza Lady Of Camelot Erno’s Cube
2023 Kristilli Tiz Invincible Kimochi
2022 Paris Dior Willinga Beast Lady Laguna
2021 Jamaea Crystal Bound Joyous Legend
2020 Away Game Vangelic See You Soon
2019 Anaheed Flit Villami
2018 Pure Elation Fiesta Outback Barbie
2017 Shoals Formality Serena Bay
2016 Missrock Prompt Response Spright
2015 Ottoman Calaverite Lake Geneva
2014 Eloping Ygritte Shaumari
2013 Everage Little Miss Smiley Major Conquest
2012 Single Style Driefontein Meidung
2011 Streama Charm’s Honour Houston Benefactor
2010 Golden Millennium Boto Vermelho Parables
2009 Readyor Amarantha Tallow
2008 Shoboard Strawberry Field Silent But Deadly
2007 Sliding Cube Gamble Me Mega Lass
2006 Catechuchu Heat of the Fire Admirelle
2005 Blizzardly Regal Cheer Heart Strings
2004 Strawberry Storm Sweet Ransom Monsoon Wedding
2003 Bella Corona Shamekha Danish Magic
2002 Before Too Long Verstak Cirque Du Soleil
2001 Allez France Miss Bussell Breezer
2000 Actress She’s A Pretender Mielleuse
1999 Katima Gilded Angel Danglissa
1998 Emotive Zaroyale Love To Honor
1997 Snapshots Lady Lucky Accept
1996 Law Of Logic Cashier Jestress
1995 Ginzano Kirov Dancer Zoffany’s Gold
1994 Alouette Mariton Euphoria
1993 Miss Prospect Pallid Star Of Nouvelle
1992 Flitter Slight Chance Discriminate
1991 Dangerous Seam Musical Chairs Marskin
1990 Rhythmic Charm Lady Madonna Poetic Vale
1989 Dazzling Flyer Gin Rhythm Perfect Evening
1988 Paris Weekend Pine Lodge Girl Fortlin
1987 The Cloisters Wangaratta Fiometta
1986 Magic Flute Pharaoh’s Daughter Blazing Fonteyne
1985 Zipella Mai Tai Girl Cologne
1984 (Div 1) Slater Love In Flight Never Over
1984 (Div 2) Dinky Flyer Pasharette Deal
1983 Lady Eclipse Noble Beauty Lady Mayfair
1982 I Like Diamonds Madayao Royal Spirit
1981 Circle Of Song Caviare Girl Coronet Flight
1980 Gay Rosalind Widen The Gap Aussie M’Selle
1979 Charity Specify Pamir
1978 Impede Choisir Adriatic
1977 Red Cat Live On Mondo Belle
1976 (Div 2) Truly Brave Grizelle Great Lu
1976 (Div 1) Fleet Princess Marquis Nosy
1975 La Stupenda Mantilla Sea Rapsody
1974 Catkin Awesome Blazing Spirit
1973 Favoured Sundari Hathaway
1972 Admire Ruchiel Genteel
1971 Kiss Me Cait Our Countess Royal Endeavour
1970 Tumberlua Evening Gown Hot Rhythm
1969 Obelia So Charming Sylvan Ridge
1968 Miss Mink Easy Street Dulcet
1967 Surre Queen Eternal Youth Gossip Queen
1966 Candy Floss Gay Rebel Todstream
1965 Lone Suzanne Ioana Lass
1964 Anemone Attentive Jewel Free
1963 Constant Image Massina Ariel
1962 April Wonder Ranee Star Lowland Lass
1961 Cymbal Miss Wonderbox Grande Brio
1960 Primrose Lane Something New Far Out