The Q22 Race Information

The The Q22 is a 2200 metre weight for age race run by the Brisbane Racing Club held in May or June. It is run at Eagle Farm as part of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2200 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $1,200,000
  • Date: Saturday 15 June 2024

The Q22 Race History

See the 2024 The Q22 Preview and results.

See the 2023 The Q22 Preview and results.

See the 2022 The Q22 Preview and results.

See the 2021 The Q22 Preview and results.

This race was called the P J O’Shea Stakes until 2019. It wasn’t run in 2020 due to Covid disrupting the Brisbane Carnival, then was rebranded in 2021 as the Q22.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Kenedna (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Rising Fear (1986); Filly – no filly has won the PJ O’Shea Stakes

Multiple winners: Scenic Shot (2008 & 2009); Roman Consul (1969 & 1970; Striking Force (1966 & 1967); Tulloch (1960 & 1961); Redcraze (1956 & 1957)

Fastest time (2200m):

Interesting trivia: In 1991 Magnolia Hall and Spring Thaw deadheated for the win. Not run in 2020 due to coronavirus.

Past winners of the The Q22

Winners of past The Q22/P J O’Shea Stakes include horses that go on to win races like the Brisbane Cup. Tulloch won this race twice, and Rough Habit came from near last in a field of 20 when he won in 1995. Mares have a good record in this race in recent years.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Without A Fight Nonconformist Duais
2022 Numerian Kolding Yonkers
2021 Zaaki Homesman Paths Of Glory
2020  ** Race not run **
2019 Kenedna Sixties Groove Re Edit
2018 Egg Tart Tradesman Megablast
2017 Single Gaze Rudy High Church
2016  ** Race not run **
2015 Werther Moriarty Epingle
2014 Moriarty Mr O’Ceirin Floria
2013 Quintessential Manighar Voila Ici
2012 Lights Of Heaven Scenic Shot Ginga Dude
2011 Glass Harmonium Shoot Out Scenic Shot
2010 Triple Honour Raffaello Newport
2009 Scenic Shot Mirkola Lass Fulmonti
2008 Scenic Shot Rampant Lion Dougs Mate
2007 Pentathon Gaze Grand Zulu
2006 Mahtoum Art Success Gorgeous George
2005 Natural Blitz Zumanity Regal Punch
2004 Pentastic Maze Another Warrior
2003 Maguire County Tyrone Grey Song
2002 Hey Pronto Freemason Prized Gem
2001 Yippyio Citi Habit King Keitel
2000 Ken’s Joy Make Mine Magic Yippyio
1999 Sharscay Cronus Reputed Groom
1998 Intergaze Sapio Star Covet
1997 Pakaraka Star Desert Chill Sharscay
1996 The Phantom French Resort Dupain
1995 Rough Habit Oppressor Desert Chill
1994 Full Suit Potential Star Cross Swords
1993 Dark Ksar Air Seattle Cool Affair
1992 Mountain Rule Mr Eurostar Zinders
1991 Magnolia Hall
Spring Thaw
 * dead-heat 1st Aquidity
1990 Shuzohra Chill Factor Dr Grace
1989 Card Shark Tawrrific Coshking
1988 Lord Hybrow Card Shark Colour Page
1987 Our Silver Elm Myocard Colour Page
1986 Rising Fear South Of Belmont Foxseal
1985 Our Boyfriend Foxseal Port Fair
1984 Godarchi Vite Cheval Roipeka
1983 Prince Majestic Lorelei Lee Rose And Thistle
1982 Shamrock El Laurena Sean’s Pride
1981 Four Crowns Belmura Lad Golden Rhapsody
1980 Iko Our Cavalier Ask The Question
1979 Belmura Lad Ima Shadow Mr Ay Bee
1978 Tod Bay Ming Dynasty Hyatt
1977 Ngawyni My Good Man Rhalif
1976 Balmerino Participator Veil Kingdom
1975 Nourishing Storming Alostar
1974 Passetreul Rose Mellay El Karpe
1973 Baghdad Note Runyon Desert Beau
1972 Tails Turfcutter Double Irish
1971 Bluelough My Sahib Lancelot
1970 Roman Consul Wiedersehen Better Talk