Old Comrade Stakes Race Information

The Old Comrade Stakes is a 1600 metre quality handicap race for two-year-olds and upwards run by the West Australian Turf Club in early April. It is held at Ascot as part of the Perth Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 2YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 April 2024

Old Comrade Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Old Comrade Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Old Comrade Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Old Comrade Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Registered as the York Stakes.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1600m): Media Baron (2020) 1:35:23

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Old Comrade Stakes

Winners of past Old Comrade Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Tin Chooks Mojo Rhythm River Rubicon
2023 Weaponson Em Tee Aye Big Bada Boom
2022 Bruce Almighty Dom To Shoot Son Of Bacchus
2021 Media Baron Trap For Fools Dig Deep
2020 Media Baron Yeah Dardy Wrinkly
2019 Mizlecki Properantes Variation
2018 Falcon Crest Pinzu North Ridge
2017 Great Shot Infathuated Man Booker
2016 Wink And A Nod Battle Hero Respondent
2015 Proceedwithcaution Tower Of Lonhro Carry The Nation
2014 Mr Utopia Full Steam Ahead The Other Harv
2013 Moneghetti Rebelson Miss Topsy Turvy
2012 Mabel Grace Our Ol’ Fella Dempsey
2011 Speccio Proart Tarzi
2010 Superscenic Mega Steel Roman TIme
2009 Roman Time Spirited One Doyoudare
2008 Guyno Mr Sandgroper Cat In A Hat
2007 Daka’s Gem Laetare Money Exchange
2006 Danny Blue Chenille Prince Sun Konyah
2005 Laetare Exchequer Main Stage
2004 Kentiara River Mist Alibi Bay
2003 Blevvo Kentiara Honor Lap
2002 Gwalia Girl Czariffic Thurston
2001 Dance Hit Penghulu Country Blazer
2000 Luna Tudor Real Currency Fleeting Chance