Oakleigh Plate Race Information

The Oakleigh Plate is an 1100 metre open handicap run at Caulfield by the Melbourne Racing Club. It is normally held on the same day as the Blue Diamond Stakes in late February each year during the Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1, Open Handicap
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 February 2021

Oakleigh Plate Race History

See the 2021 Oakleigh Plate Preview and Results.

The Oakleigh Plate was first run in 1884 when it was won by an exceptional horse called Malua who went on to win the 1884 Newmarket Handicap, the 1884 Adelaide Cup and the 1884 Melbourne Cup. Four years later he won the 1888 Grand National Hurdle. Although Oakleigh Plate winners need to be strong and fast it is hard to imagine modern Oakleigh Plate horses running in a 4800 metre race in the twilight of their career.

The original distance was 6 furlongs (about 1200 metres) and remained the same until 1972. It was changed to 1100 metres in 1973. It is a tough race to win with the mare Dual Choice being the only horse to achieve back-to-back wins in 1971 and 1972. Aurie’s Star is the only other horse to win more than once in 1937 and 1939.

Traditional lead-up races to the Oakleigh Plate are the Group 1 Lightning Stakes over 1000 metres or the Group 3 Rubiton Stakes over 1100 metres. Horses who perform well in the Oakleigh often tackle the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap over 1200 metres two weeks later.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Celebrity Queen (2021) – in a dead-heat

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Portland Sky (2021) – in a dead heat; Filly – Miss Kournikova (2001)

Multiple winners: Dual Choice (1971 & 1972); Aurie’s Star (1937 & 1939)

Fastest time (1100m): Pippie (2020) 1:01:93

Interesting trivia: 2021 was the 139th running of the race and the first ever dead-heat. 1988 winner Snippets is the sire of 1997 winner Spartacus. 1884 winner Malua also won the 1884 Melbourne Cup.

Past winners of the Oakleigh Plate

The only two horses to win the Lightning Stakes, Oakleigh Plate and Newmarket Melbourne sprint treble were Schillachi in 1992 and Placid Ark in 1987. Dual Choice won the 1971 Lightning and Oakleigh but came second in the Newmarket.

Many of Australia’s favourite sprinters have won this race including Lankan Rupee (2014), Weekend Hussler (2008), Fastnet Rock (2005), Miss Kournikova (2001), Schillachi (1992), Snippets (1988), Placid Ark (1987), Turf Ruler (1980), Zephyr Bay (1975), San Domenico (1949), Aurie’s Star (1937 & 1939), Woorak (1917) and Wakeful (1901). Tontonan (1974) is the only Golden Slipper winner who has won when he had his first start as a three-year-old after breaking down following wins in the Golden Slipper and AJC Sires Produce.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Celebrity Queen
Portland Sky
[dead heat for 1st] Kemalpasa
2020 Pippie Zoutori Crystal Dreamer
2019 Booker Encryption Eduardo
2018 Russian Revolution Snitty Kitty Hellbent
2017 Sheidel Faatinah Extreme Choice
2016 Flamberge Fell Swoop Heatherly
2015 Shamal Wind Under The Louvre Fast’n’Rocking
2014 Lankan Rupee Spirit Of Boom Knoydart
2013 Mrs Onassis Facile Tigre Spirit Of Boom
2012 Woorim Elite Falls Facile Tigre
2011 Eagle Falls Avenue Hinchinbrook
2010 Starspangledbanner Here De Angels
[dead heat for 2nd]
2009 Swiss Ace Lucky Secret Typhoon Zed
2008 Weekend Hussler Magnus Tramuntana
2007 Undue Poet’s Voice Magnus
2006 Snitzel Virage De Fortune Takeover Target
2005 Fastnet Rock Segments Legally Bay
2004 Reactive Ancient Song Suit
2003 River Dove North Boy Choisir
2002 Sudurka Mistegic Straight Ace
2001 Miss Kournikova Miss Pennymoney Show A Heart
2000 Sports Falvelon Rancho Spark

From the archives:

Oakleigh Plate Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good  Weather: Showers

There is a full field of 18 plus 2 emergencies for the $500,000 Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate. The early favourite is Russian Revolution who has won 6 of his 10 starts and is unbeaten first-up. Second favourite is She Will Reign who resumed with a strong win in the 2018 Inglis 3YO Sprint and has won 6 of her 8 starts. Third favourite is Catchy who won the Blue Diamond on this day last year and should go well first up.

Booker likes this track and should run well with her light weight. Snitty Kitty likes the track and distance but has drawn very wide. Flamberge won this race in 2016 and was a very close 2nd in the Rubiton Stakes last outing. All other runners are currently $14 or longer, including last year’s winner Sheidel, and there are many chances.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
2 Russian Revolution
16 She Will Reign
1 Flamberge
18 Booker