National Sprint Race Information

The National Sprint is a 1400 metre quality handicap race run by the Canberra Racing Club in March. It is held at Thoroughbred Park as part of the Canberra Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Thoroughbred Park, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
  • Prizemoney: $165,000
  • Date: Sunday 10 March 2024

National Sprint Race History

See the 2024 National Sprint Preview and results.

See the 2023 National Sprint Preview and results.

See the 2022 National Sprint Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Bacchanal Woman (2009)

Multiple winners: Snippets Land (2015 & 2019)

Fastest time (1400m): Tougherthantherest (2018) 1:21:70

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the National Sprint

Winners of past National Sprints include horses that go on to win major autumn races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Coin Toss Demanding Mo Kinloch
2023 Another One Handle The Truth Cavalier Charles
2022 Irish Songs Ashman Mad As Zariz
2021 Handle The Truth Thy Kingdom Come Peyton Place
2020 Cuba Sir Bacchus Ken’s Dream
2019 Snippets Land Who’s Knocking Levee Bank
2018 Tougherthantherest Coolring Snippets Land
2017 Gold Symphony Happy Clapper Handfast
2016 Cosmic Cube Just A Blur Lunar Rise
2015 Snippets Land Mighty Lucky Darciwood
2014 Messene Reparations Centennial Park
2013 Niblick Upshot Glad You Called
2012 Hood Onthelookout Alma’s Fury
2011 Lebrechaun Bacchanal Woman Onthelookout
2010 Sainthood Bay Window Ivory Pegasus
2009 Bacchanal Woman French Gaze Flying Along
2008 My Lady’s Chamber Inadesert Phantom Tenor
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 New Edge Lorenzo Kiss My Fiji
2005 Serkelt Fire At Will Kiss My Fiji
2004 Ain’t Seen Nothin’ Bosworth This Manshood
2003 Johnny Reb Examine The Books Ancient Song
2002 Make Me A Miracle Impregnable Knickerbocker Kid
2001 Majanui Valley Warrior Final Fantasy
2000 Sir Avalanche Count Scenario The Dark