Moreton Cup Race Information

The Moreton Cup is a 1200 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in late May or early June. It is run at Eagle Farm as part of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival. The winner is exempt from ballot in the Stradbroke Handicap and Tattersall’s Tiara.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 8 June 2024

Moreton Cup Race History

See the 2024 Moreton Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Moreton Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 Moreton Cup Preview and results.

See the 2021 Moreton Cup Preview and results.

Coming soon, Previously called the QTC Cup

Moreton Cup Facts

Last mare to win; Varenna Miss (2011)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Spill The Beans (2016); Filly – Pretty In Pink (2019)

Multiple winners:  Baller (2021 & 2022)

Fastest time (1200m):

Interesting trivia: Patpong was first past the post in 2004 but lost on protest to Falkirk. It was not run in 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Past winners of the Moreton Cup

Winners of past Moreton Cup include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Vilana Mazu Jigsaw
2023 Prince Of Boom Far Too Easy Contemptuous
2022 Baller Wandabaa Kementari
2021 Baller Zaniah Wisdom Of Water
2020  ** Race not run **
2019 Pretty In Pink Brave Song Winter Bride
2018 The Monstar Platinum Angel Calanda
2017 Deploy Dothraki Perfect Dare
2016 Spill The Beans Federal Stratum Star
2015 Ball Of Muscle That’s A Good Idea Kuro
2014 Sacred Star Masthead Bennetta
2013 Galah Conservatorium Griffon
2012 Celtic Dancer Belltone Joint Chiefs
2011 Varrena Miss Phelan Ready Zingaling
2010 Catapulted Border Rebel Ego’s Dare
2009 Ortensia Maxison Mr Baritone
2008 Chinchilla Rose Black Ink Easy Rocker
2007 Nova Star Rasmussen Son Of Dane
2006 Messiaen Consular Spuruson
2005 Sir Breakfast Beautiful Gem All Bar One
2004 Falkirk Patpong Bomber Bill
2003 Into The Night Bomber Bill Polygram
2002 Pembleton Maitland Gold Machtig Mini Panis
2001 Century Kid Super Impressive Federal Agent
2000 Gallopini Super Espion Antiquity
1999  ** Race not run **
1998 Scandinavia City Hall Al Mansour
1997 Celestial Choir Clang Accomplice
1996 Hareeba Khaptingly Suntain
1995 Bulldog Yeats Khaptingly Spanish Mix
1994 Bellzevir Space Moon Spritely Jet
1993 Overpitch Bucks Pride Deposition
1992 Schillaci Unequalled Roman Senator
1991 Heavenly Knight Barrosa Boy The Bullfighter
1990 Rechabite From The Planet Planet Ruler
1989 Vitalic Groucho Orianda
1988  ** Race not run **
1987 Tolai Paris Beau Canny Lass
1986 Eye Of The Sky Daybreak Lover Goldome
1985 Pete’s Choice Coal Pak Kingdom Bay
1984 Manuan Lord Ballina Daybreak Lover
1983 Nosey Parker My Axeman Princess Teresina
1982 My Gold Hope Mr Magic Ideal Planet
1981 Tulip Town Watney Bakerman
1980 Winter’s Dance Turf Ruler Bemboka Yacht
1979 Famoso Gris Gentle James Pacific Prince