Moonga Stakes Race Information

The Moonga Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for four-year-olds and up run by the Melbourne Racing Club in October. It is held at Caulfield as part of the Caulfield Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 4YOs & up
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 17 October 2020

Moonga Stakes Race History

The race was first run in 1982 and was won by a horse called Cardinal’s Fury. In 1988 it became a Listed race and Vo Rogue won it that year. It became a Group 3 race in 1994.

It is held on Caulfield Cup day which is the biggest event of the year at Caulfield

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Whateverwhenever (2012)

Fastest time (1400m): Volitant (2005) 1:21:37

Interesting trivia: Highest weight carried to win was 62.5kg by Rough Habit in 1992.

Past winners of the Moonga Stakes

Winners of past Moonga Stakes include Streets Of Avalon (2019), Voodoo Lad (2016), Lucky Hussler (2014), Boban (2013), Love Conquers All (2011), Perfectly Ready (2006), Thorn Park (2003), Assertive Lad (2002), Flavour (2001), Rough Habit (1992) and Vo Rogue (1988).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Wild Planet Morrissy Fifty Stars
2019 Streets Of Avalon Variation Royal Meeting
2018 Sircconi Dreamforce Perast
2017 Ulmann Burning Front Echo Effect
2016 Voodoo Lad Under The Louvre Coronation Shallan