Millie Fox Stakes Race Information

The Millie Fox Stakes is a 1300 metre set weights plus penalties race for fillies and mare three-year-old and upwards run by the Australian Turf Club in February. It is run at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1300 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, fillies and mares, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 February 2024

Millie Fox Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Millie Fox Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Millie Fox Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Millie Fox Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run over 1200m in 1996 when it was won by Chlorophyll ridden by John Marshall. The same jockey won the following year on Dashing Eagle. Both of these horses went on to be Group 1 winners. It became a Listed race in 1998 and in 2006 the distance was increased to the current 1300m. It became a Group 3 race in 2007 and was upgraded to the current Group 2 status in 2013. Red Tracer won this race three times (2012, 2013 and 2014) so has won it as a Group 3 and a Group 2 race.

Useful Facts

Last 3YO to win: Tivoli Dancer (2005)

Multiple winners: Red Tracer (2012, 2013 & 2014); Montana Flyer (2010 & 2011).

Fastest time (1300m): Montana Flyer (2011) 1:16:3

Millie Fox Stakes & Coolmore Classic: Daysee Doom (2018); Chlorophyll (1996)

Interesting trivia: Canberra trainer Barbara Joseph has won this race twice with A Country Girl (2007) and Verdict Declared (2000)

Past winners of the Millie Fox Stakes

Winners of past Millie Fox Stakes include horses that may continue on to Group 1 fillies and mares races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Zougotcha Lady Laguna Madame Pommery
2023 Electric Girl Expat Roots
2022 Expat Belluci Babe Le Lude
2021 Subpoenaed Madam Rogue She’s Ideel
2020 Saviatiano White Moss Invincible Gem
2019 White Moss I Am Serious Savatiano
2018 Daysee Doom Girl Sunday Foxplay
2017 In Her Time Euro Angel Daysee Doom
2016 First Seal Telepathic I’ve Got The Looks
2015 Catkins Plucky Belle Avoid Lightning
2014 Red Tracer A Time For Julia Lucky Lago
2013 Red Tracer Risk Aversion Ladys Angel
2012 Red Tracer Crafty Irna Older Than Time
2011 Montana Flyer Graceful Anna Jersey Lily
2010 Montana Flyer Chakvetadze Subtle Cove
2009 Neroli Pravana Belong To Many
2008 November Flight Absolutelyfabulous Swissac
2007 A Country Girl Pasikatera Spinner’s Magic
2006 Wild Queen Steflara Regal Cheer
2005 Tivoli Dancer Lil Elsa Johan’s Toy
2004 Seances In A Bound Recurring
2003 Gentle Genius Snow Hero Ancient Song
2002 Triko Vita Pirouettes
2001 Nanny Maroon Stella Maree Poppett
2000 Verdict Declared Sorrento Zastov
1999 Wynciti Rubitoff Sash
1998 Just Like Crystal Amber St. Pamela Ann
1997 Dashing Eagle Seika Amber
1996 Chlorophyll Amber Dipping