Maribyrnong Plate Race Information

The Maribyrnong Plate is a 1000 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Victorian Racing Club in early November. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Cup Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Tuesday 7 November 2023

Maribyrnong Plate Race History

See the 2020 Maribyrnong Plate Preview

The Maribyrnong Plate has a long history as it was first raced in 1871 when it was won by a horse called Argus Scandal. It was a Listed race from 1979 to 2004 and became a Group 3 race from 2005.

Some runners will be having their first start in this race and some may have run in the Listed Maribyrnong Trial Stakes four weeks earlier.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Vinicunca (2018)

Fastest time (1000m): Testa Rossa (1998) 0:56:69

Interesting trivia: In 1956 Tulloch finished 2nd to Concert Star. Winners Baguette (1969), Birthright (1966) and Heirloom (1962) are all out of champion broodmare Dark Jewel.

Past winners of the Maribyrnong Plate

Winners of past Maribyrnong Plates include General Truce (2009), Husson Lightning (2006), Nadeem (2005), Bel Esprit (2001), Testa Rossa (1998), Flavour (1995), Canny Lad (1989), Show County (1988), Rancho Ruler (1986), New Atlantis (1984), Rancher (1981), Blazing Saddles (1976), Cabouln (1974), Scamanda (1973), Baguette (1969), Vain (1968), Biscay (1967), Fine And Dandy (1958), Heroic (1923) and Newminster (1875).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Dublin Down Blue Stratum Odinson
2022 Krakarib Little Brose Awestruck
2021 Brereton Renosu Le Gagneur
2020 Finance Tycoon Ingratiating Marine One
2019 Hard Landing Baaqyah Tagaloa
2018 Vinicunca Art Collection Chicago Bull
2017 Run Naan Encryption Belzella
2016 Aspect Cao Cao Wait For No One
2015 Power Trip Flying Artie Gloriette
2014 Prompt Return Old Trieste Sailing By
2013 Boomwaa Lockroy Silent Whisper
2012 Direct Charge Crack A Roadie Shamus Award
2011 Real Stolle Andre Roo Hoo Magnus Reign
2010 Arctic Command Aashiq Running Tall
2009 General Truce Sweet Cheeks She’s Got Gears
2008 Our Joan Of Arc Zaffaan Happy Knockout
2007 Exceedingly Good Reaan Nato
2006 Husson Lightning Deferential Meurice
2005 Nadeem Follow The Till Bariagarney
2004 Jiang Seidnazar Strikes Back
2003 Sanziro Love Jeddah Insurgents
2002 Ra Sun Pinchbeck Express Ball
2001 Bel Esprit Nessuno Cousy
2000 Langoustine Desert Angel Malagra Miss
1999 Happy Giggle Preserve Pembleton
1998 Testa Rossa Real Jester Walk The Wild Side