Magic Millions WA 2YO Classic Race Information

The Magic Millions WA 2YO Classic is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run for graduates of Magic Millions yearling sales in WA. It is held at Pinjarra Park in early February as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Restricted Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Pinjarra Park, Pinjarra, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $237,500
  • Date: Saturday 16 February 2024

Magic Millions WA 2YO Classic Race History

See the 2024 Magic Millions WA 2YO Classic Preview and results.

See the 2023 Magic Millions WA 2YO Classic Preview and results.

The race was first held in December 1999 over 1100m when it was won by Nervola Belle. In 2016 it was moved to 1200m at Pinjarra Park.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Sheeza Belter (2022)

Fastest time (1200m): The River (2016) 1:10:88

Leading jockey: Shaun McGruddy with 4 wins. Ex Sport Man (2021); Lucy Mae (2017); The River (2016); Wolfe Dreams (2009).

Interesting trivia: In 2005 it was run over 1200m at Belmont. Rory’s Jester sired 2008 winner Amelia’s Reason, 2007 winner Jestatune and 2002 winner Wyndam Glory.

Past winners of the Magic Millions WA 2YO Classic

Winners of past Magic Millions WA 2YO Classics include Gemma’s Son (2020), Valour Road (2018), Lucy Mae (2017), The River (2016) and Lucky Street (2015).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Big Shots Madhi Girl Angels Impact
2023 Super Smink Snow Prince Champagne Street
2022 Sheeza Belter She’s Greysful Street Parade
2021 Ex Sport Man Heavenly Waters Be Optimistic
2020 Gemma’s Son Surveillance Watch Me Dance
2019 Jericho Missile Niccovi Miss West Coast
2018 Valour Road Ngawi Cockatiel
2017 Lucy Mae Achernar Star Colourful Charade
2016 The River Stored Energy The Celt
2015 Lucky Street Light Up the Sky Dickey
2014 Cadenza Rommel Silver Trace
2013 Camporella Vampi Lass Petrol Power
2012 Darlington Abbey Vonlenska Express Service
2011 Western Fever Night War Internationalist
2010 Time To Climb Nediyms Ruler Leamington
2009 Wolfe Dreams Xaaravid Dino Mak
2008 Amelia’s Reason Zeda Mak Fremantle
2007 Jestatune Mighty Mak Bealair
2006 Ravinia Clarecastle Oroya Gold
2005 Lock The Vault Scenic Shot Torrid Affair
2004 Scottish Storm Danny Blue Volition
2003 Rose Of Thunder Pretty Smik Woodlore
2002 Wyndam Glory Rachael’s Pride Antique
2001 Gambei Miss Torpago Pathlessly
1999 Dec Nervola Belle Mystery Moon Grand Turismo