Kevin Heffernan Stakes Race Information

The Kevin Heffernan Stakes is a 1400 metre weight-for-age race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in November. It is held at Sandown Hillside at the end of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 December 2023

Kevin Heffernan Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Kevin Heffernan Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Kevin Heffernan Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2020 Kevin Heffernan Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon. Was over 1300m at Sandown Hillside in 2020 then 1400m at Caulfield from 2021.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Teleplay (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G = none; Filly – Gibraltar Campion (2007)

Multiple winners: nil

Fastest time (1300m): Lucky Hussler (2016) 1:16:43

Interesting trivia: Held At Caulfield in 2013.

Past winners of the Kevin Heffernan Stakes

Winners of past Kevin Heffernan Stakes include Lucky Hussler (2016), Lankan Rupee (2013), Century Kid (2002).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 King Magnus Unusual Culture Vilana
2022 Crosshaven Norwegian Bliss Literary Magnate
2021 Sinawann I Am Superman Streets Of Avalon
2020 Kemalpasa Order of Command Neighbourhood
2019 Teleplay Home Of The Brave Hey Doc
2018 Cool Passion First Among Equals Savanna Amour
2017 Jungle Edge Casino Wizard Thronum
2016 Lucky Hussler Illustrious Lad Super Cash
2015 Famous Seamus Generalife Gracious Prospect
2014 Fast N Rocking Generalife Flamberge
2013 Lankan Rupee Hot Snitzel Famous Seamus
2012 Mid Summer Music Hot Snitzel Unpretentious
2011 Soul Masthead Doubtful Jack
2010 Avenue Dubleanny Royal Ida
2009 Lucky Secret Posadas Diplomatic Force
2008 Captain Bax Posadas Juggle The Books
2007 Gibraltar Campion Cargo Cult Cocinero
2006 Tesbury Jack Cocinero Let Go Thommo
2005 Bomber Bill Unabated Air Cooled
2004 Brannigan Dandy Kid Mr Lofty
2003 Super Groove Recurring Rustic Mist
2002 Century Kid Suit Belle Du Jour
2001 Chattanooga Libidinous Toledo
2000 Sports Paint Cullen