J.C. Roberts Stakes Race Information

The J.C. Roberts Stakes is an 1800 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old colts and geldings run by the West Australian Turf Club in March. It is held at Ascot as one of the feature events of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1800 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO colts & geldings
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 March 2024

J.C. Roberts Stakes Race History

See the 2024 J.C. Roberts Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 J.C. Roberts Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Lead-up for the WATC Derby.

In the past it was open to all three-year-olds.

Up to 2000 it was a Group 3 race and downgraded to its current Listed status in 2001.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1800m): Phenomenons (2009) 1:49:58

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the J.C. Roberts Stakes

Winners of past J.C. Roberts Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Lord Vampi Alaskan Seven Iron
2023 Another Chino Demolish Axeman’s Jazz
2022 Rokanori Trix Of The Trade Henchard
2021 Western Empire Holy Enchantment Off Wego
2020 Talladega Bogart Midnight Blue
2019 Platoon Regal Power Blackwood River
2018 Money Maher He’s A Parker Media Baron
2017 Final Salute Gatting Friaresque
2016 Heart Starter Who Dat Singa Kia Ora Koutou
2015 Battle Hero Tonto Boom Time
2014 Respondent Ihtsahymn Black Heart Bart
2013 Saturday Skies Rebelson Trading Day
2012 Rohan Flag Officer Rock Band
2011 View The Stars Veracious The Tenby Friar
2010 Bridgestone God Has Spoken For Your Eyes Only
2009 Phenomenons Shajezar Liquidation
2008 Verossi Famous Roman Yuro
2007 New Spice Mansion House Guyno
2006 Scenic Shot Dr Bravado Cats Fun
2005 Local Legend Danny Blue King’s Carnival
2004 Knight Academy Magic Aces Chenille Prince
2003 The Right Money Zoometric Wool Zone
2002 Lord Mason Suspicion Cent Dancing
2001 Mr Tanzania Chestnut Dream Pay No Heed
2000 Gwalia Girl Our Selection Classic Lady