How Now Stakes Race Information

The How Now Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for mares four-years-old and upwards run by the Melbourne Racing Club in September. It is held at Caulfield on the same day as the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 4YO & upwards Mares
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 19 September 2020

How Now Stakes Race History

See the 2020 How Now Stakes Preview and Results

The race was first held in 1999 as a Listed race over 1200m and was won by Snippets Lass. It was upgraded to a Group 3 race in 2005.

It is named after the brilliant filly How Now, who won the 1976 Underwood Stakes.

How Now Stakes Facts

Multiple winners: none

Fastest time (1200m): Lovely Jubly (2003) 1:09:01

Interesting trivia: There was a deadheat in 2005 between Sarah Michelle and Brindabella.

Past winners of the How Now Stakes

Winners of past How Now Stakes include Winter Bride (2018), Secret Agenda (2016), Politeness (2015), Catkins (2013), Sister Madly (2011), Velocitea (2009), Queen Of The Hill (2006), Lovely Jubly (2003), Miss Power Bird (2001) and Piavonic (2000).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Felicia Broadwayandfourth Fiesta
2019 Manicure Angelic Ruler Dawn Dawn
2018 Winter Bride Ellicazoom Platinum Angel
2017 Savanna Amour Legless Veuve Ravi
2016 Secret Agenda Every Faith Exclusive Lass