Hot Danish Stakes Race Information

The Hot Danish Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for mares run by the Australian Turf Club in November. It is run at Rosehill as part of The Everest Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, mares 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 7 November 2020

Hot Danish Stakes Race History

Previously called the Breeders Classic.

History coming soon.

Hot Danish Stakes Facts

Multiple winners: Catkins (2014 & 2015); Steps InTime (2012 & 2013); Gigandra (1912 & 1913)

Fastest time (1400m): Reelem In Ruby (2019) 1:22:62

Fastest time (1200m): Private Steer (2004) 1:08:31

Interesting trivia: The race was run twice in 2019 as a 1200m race in autumn and 1400m in spring.

Past winners of the Hot Danish Stakes

Winners of past Hot Danish Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2019 (spring) Reelem In Ruby Moss Trip El Dorado Dreaming
2019(autumn) Champagne Cuddles Cool Passion Alassio
2018 Prompt Response Egyptian Symbol Danish Twist
2017 In Her Time Egyptian Symbol Flippant
2016 Amicus Press Report I’ve Got The Looks