Hill Smith Stakes Race Information

The Hill Smith Stakes is an 1800 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the South Australian Jockey Club in October. It is held at Morphettville as part of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1800 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 14 October 2023

Hill Smith Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Hill Smith Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Hill Smith Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Hill Smith Stakes Preview and results

Coming soon

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: More Reward (2022)

Fastest time (1800m): Beluga Blue (2015) 1:49:06

Interesting trivia: Savabeel sired the 2017 winner Savaheat and the 2019 winner Craftmanship.

Past winners of the Hill Smith Stakes

Winners of past Hill Smith Stakes include horses that go on to contest Oaks and Derby races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Air Assault Diamonds Choice Sentimental Flame
2022 More Reward Big Story Prince Tikea
2021 Cerberus Jungle Magnate Max Fire
2020 Ain’tnodeeldun Victoria Quay Passing Phase
2019 Craftmanship Balaabel Magazine
2018 Burn Off Stars Of Carrum Seberate
2017 Savaheat Glam Guru Box On Collins
2016 Pretty Punk Silvera Morvada
2015 Beluga Blue Colonel Custer Special Lover
2014 Lotion Beau’s My Boy Miracle The Second
2013 Storm Approach Gamblin’ Guru Thomason
2012 Hioctdane Viking Star Nisos
2011 Perfect Punch Quench The Thirst Mossego
2010 Kittens Magnifique Soleil Tale Of Thunder
2009 Keep Control Tee Emar Well Rounded
2008 Dual Hemisphere Tuscany View Miss Piggy Bank
2007 Kibbutz Diana’s Secret All About Annie
2006 Deledio Delusion Bettws
2005 Gallant Guru Holly Go Lightly Fraaclase
2004 Crying Storm Lions Gate Bullmix
2003 On A Jeune La Boisselle Exalted Privilege
2002 Anacarde Bluewin Mount Kosciusko
2001 Elathea Karla Keys Work And Play
2000 Danamania Comforts Danish Storm
1999 Smytzer’s Rivalry Enlightning Umaline