H C Nitschke Stakes Race Information

The HC Nitschke Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the South Australian Jockey Club in April. It is held at Morphettville Parks as part of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Morphettville Parks Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 April 2021

HC Nitschke Stakes Race History

The race was first held over 1200m at Morphettville in 1977 when it was won by a horse called Sundial trained by W F Carter and ridden by Michael Domingo.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Wild Vixen (2020)

Fastest time (1400m): East Indiaman (2019) 1:22:82

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the H C Nitschke Stakes

Winners of past HC Nitschke Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Wild Vixen Really Discreet Done By Me
2019 East Indiaman Seberate Ice Ghost
2018 Peaceful State Smooth Landing Platinum Angel
2017 Fox Hall Cappadocia Weather Channel
2016 Rageese Battle Brewing Catch A Fire
2015 Japhils Actuariat Alcobro
2014 Tango’s Daughter Lady Lakshimi Gracious Prospect
2013 General Peekay Couldn’t Agreemore Red Fez
2012 Balzeus Riziz Comearoundsundown
2011 Ain’tnofallenstar Always Discreet Addiction To Rock
2010 I’m Discreet Baby Corn Furline
2009 Pricked Bondarchuk Ocean Challenger
2008 Goin To Jackson Plan Ahead La Viscomtessa
2007 Devil Moon Classic De Lago Zedazest
2006 Marju Snip Teppanyaki Birdbrain
2005 Exalted Ego Open Cut Distilled
2004 Accost Isle Of Gibraltar Jillimarg
2003 Yvonne Mr Jazz Man Upmarket Star
2002 Storming Bai Tully Dane Shanghai Moon
2001 Starbucks Exalted Lad Soldado
2000 Work And Turn Zip Infatuation Rainbird Blue