Grandstand Cup Race Information

The Grandstand Cup is a 1500 metre quality handicap race run by the West Australian Turf Club in March. It is held at Ascot as part of the Perth Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

Grandstand Cup Race History

See the 2024 Grandstand Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Grandstand Cup Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Wink And A Nod (2016)

Multiple winners: Megatic (2009 & 2010); Corporate Bruce (2001 & 2002).

Fastest time (1500m): Wrinkly (2021) 1:28:32

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Grandstand Cup

Winners of past Grandstand Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Mood Swings Weaponson Mojo Rhythm
2023 Playing Marika Em Tee Aye Big Bada Boom
2022 Son Of A God Bruce Almighty Karli’s Karma
2021 Dig Deep Samizdat Luke’s Gold
2020 Wrinkly Harry Thomas Platoon
2019 Achernar Star Variation Tellem We’re Comin
2018 Falcon Crest Red Ora Already Famous
2017 Man Booker Great Shot Red Ora
2016 Wink And A Nod Battle Hero Dream Lifter
2015 Tower Of Lonhro Ask Me Nicely Sireeze
2014 Amorino Mr Utopia Global Flirt
2013 Kerrific Amelias Dancer Global Flirt
2012 Battle Emblem Dempsey Speccio
2011 Wolfe Dreams Keytomoney Lie In Wait
2010 Megatic Noble Steed Late Night Flight
2009 Megatic Tarzi Scenic Shot
2008 Ripped Royal Lott Local Legend
2007 Arctic Park Ripped Idyllic Prince
2006 Kim Invader Spider Strikes Classic Chevron
2005 Beyond Dispute Miss Castaway Ambers Halo
2004 Plea Bargain River Mist Cento
2003 Stormy’s Son Prince Of Pop Mr Tambourineman
2002 Corporate Bruce Prince Of Pop Jugahtrice
2001 Corporate Bruce Prince Of Pop Old Fashion
2000 Corporate James McFlirt Swift Spice
1999 Sounds Of Legends Look Of Success Fiddle Talk
1998 Double Blue Crusoe Look Of Success
1997 Gypsy Lad Bar Dreamer Cash In The Bank
1996 Jacks Or Better
1995 Defensive Play Doctor Golly Lynsted Lad
1994 Quaalup
1993 Pago Escort
1992 Doctor Golly
1991 Global Impact
1990 Exador
1989 Perfect Answer