Grafton Cup Race Information

The Grafton Cup is a 2350 metre quality handicap race run by the Clarence River Jockey Club on the second Thursday in July. It is held at Grafton as part of the July Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2350 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Grafton Racecourse, Grafton, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Thursday 8 July 2021

Grafton Cup Race History

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Queenstown (2014)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Stormhill (2005); Filly – none

Multiple winners: Oppressor (1994& 1995); Jardel (1974 & 1975); Home James (1963 & 1964); Hosier ( 1922, 1923 & 1924); Longwy (1919 & 1920)

Fastest time (2350m): Bonfire (2001) 2:22:59

Grafton Cup & Melbourne Cup: Kensei (1987)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Grafton Cup

Winners of past Grafton Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Sixties Groove The Lord Mayor Carzoff
2019 Sacred Day Sopressa Vaucluse Bay
2018 First Crush Winkler Reneged
2017 Supply And Demand Get On The Grange Montauk
2016 Rednav All Clear Jumbo Prince
2015 Bonfire Kapour Shoreham
2014 Queenstown Secessio Noisy Ocean
2013 Mr O’ceirin Yulalona Reuben Percival
2012 Shamardashing Saint Encosta Warrior Within
2011 Warrior Within Gold In Dubai Shuffle The Cash
2010 Twin Wing Frozone Ironstein
2009 Castle Heights Hume Twin Wing
2008 Art Success Belmonte Juerga
2007 Ashraf Kincharm Casa De Campo
2006 Rocking On Gaze On Victory Charm
2005 Stormhill Precise Timing Dancing Daggers
2004 Pacific Dancer Corporate Queen Zabeat
2003 Belus Majestically Legerdemain
2002 Master Pom Paestum Asia
2001 Desk Top Lover Crown Mahal Viva La Vie
2000 Simigan Super Revenir Akwazoff
1999 Count Scenario Wawerri Melora
1998 Catapult Mack ‘n’ Me Wawerri
1997 Akwazoff Dannemora Mack ‘n’ Me