Gai Waterhouse Classic Race Information

The Gai Waterhouse Classic is a 1200 metre quality handicap race for fillies and mares run by the Ipswich Turf Club in June. It is held at Ipswich as a feature event on Ipswich Cup Day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, Fillies & mares
  • Track: Ipswich Racecourse, Ipswich, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 22 June 2024

Gai Waterhouse Classic Race History

See the 2024 Gai Waterhouse Classic Preview and results.

See the 2023 Gai Waterhouse Classic Preview and results.

See the 2022 Gai Waterhouse Classic Preview and results.

Previously run over 1350m the distance was reduced to 1200m in 2021.

Useful Facts

Last 3YO filly to win: Ready To Prophet (2019)

Fastest time (1350m): Hasta La Ciao Ciao (2001) 1:19:47

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Gai Waterhouse Classic

Winners of past Gai Waterhouse Classics include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Wollombi Bezique Party For Two
2023 Chassis Better Get Set Hellfest
2022 Centrefire Maybe The Best Majestic Shot
2021 Lillemor Intrepidacious Blazing Miss
2020 Solar Star Jami Lady Multaja
2019 Ready To Prophet Organza Skate To Paris
2018 Magic Alibi Foxy Housewife Plucky Girl
2017 Maternal Kinshachi Banda Spice
2016 Blueberry Hill Elusive Catch Echo Gal
2015 Real Surreal Tukiyo Fare Well
2014 Jazz Song Griante Breakfast In Bed
2013 Peron Skating On Ice Doubtfilly
2012 Gai’s Choice Mascareri Miss Barwang
2011 Born To Rock Cicarelli Flinders City
2010 Kryptelon Beyonce’s Star Paprika
2009 Dorf Command Go Johemma Kisani
2008 Bareena Bella Valentina Dance Girl Dance
2007 Lesmartre Belles Opinion Nepro
2006 Hasta La Ciao Ciao Really Flying Romare
2005 Au Chocolat Kind Spirits Charmview
2004 Star Of Flight Paraca Kind Spirits
2003 Ta Ta Tatiana Irgunette Feelers