Durbridge Stakes Race Information

The Durbridge Stakes is an 1100 metre weight-for-age race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in late January or early February. It is held at Morphettville as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 January 2024

Durbridge Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Durbridge Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Durbridge Stakes Preview and results.

The race dates back to at least 1978 when it was won by a horse called Great Vanity. in 2007 the distance was reduced from 1300m to 1200m, and in July 2020 Thoroughbred Racing South Australia (TRSA) announced it would be moved from October to late January and the distance would be reduced from 1200m to 1100m. The change was to allow horses looking at targeting Melbourne autumn features an ideal start point in South Australia, and the race was not held in 2020. The new date places it two weeks before the Group 1 Lightning Stakes over 1000m at Flemington.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Cavaloce (2016)

Multiple winners: Royal Ida (2005, 2006 & 2007); Lazing About (1998 & 2001)

Fastest time (1200m): Royal Ida (2007) 1:08:96

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Durbridge Stakes

Winners of past Durbridge Stakes include horses that go on to win major autumn races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Aitch Two Oh Picargo Grinzinger Prince
2023 Shamino See You In Heaven Kemelpasa
2022 Kemalpasa Behemoth Champagne Dreams
2021 Behemoth Kemalpasa Mystyko
2019 Oct Kemalpasa Casino Wizard Arrow Lane
2018 Casino Wizard Petrelle All About Nicci
2017 Lope De Capio Casino Wizard Lord Aspen
2016 Cavaloce Lord Aspen Casino Wizard
2015 Flamberge Swinging Arms Mandla
2014 Hucklebuck Nite Rocker Karacatis
2013 Golden Penny Just Discreet Karacatis
2012 Classy Chloe Just Sybil Justify That
2011 Conservatorium Catapulted Far Horizons
2010 About Ready Rightfully Yours Voile Rouge
2009 Very Discreet Hidden Energy Royal Ida
2008 Bella Valentina Friday Creek Changing Eyes
2007 Royal Ida Pencelaron Bold Line
2006 Royal Ida Shablec Shinzig
2005 Royal Ida Squillani Navy Shaker
2004 Squillani Fly For Me Sky Love
2003 Kulnura Unrocel Saint Magique Shy
2002 Ikaros Agalia Oh So Discreet
2001 Lazing About Romilada Spice Doll
2000 Super Lad Star Joe Border Time
1999 Aptego Lazing About Aviate