Detonator Stakes Race Information

The Detonator Stakes is a 1800 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Western Australian Turf Club in February. It is held at Ascot as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1800 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights & penalties, 3YOs & up
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 February 2021

Detonator Stakes Race History

The race dates back to at least 1991 when it was run as the Listed WATC Qantas Cup over 1800m and was won by a horse called See The Distance. In 2005 only it was run over 1650m.

It is named after Detonator who won the Railway Stakes in 1975.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Pop Culture (2014)

Fastest time (1800m): Chinese Arithmetic (2002) 1:48:33

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2000

Past winners of the Detonator Stakes

Winners of past Detonator Stakes include many horses who go on to become good milers and middle distance horses.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Last Of The Line Montelena Paddy’s Shadow
2020 Arctic Stream The Big Show Harry Thomas
2019 Star Exhibit Let’s Twist Cappo D’Oro
2018 Falcon Crest Woodsville Dark Alert
2017 Pounamu Tonto Falcon Crest
2016 Angola Silver Plated Cougar Nights
2015 Peck Young Lionel Wayside
2014 Pop Culture Cyber Crime Coup Acclaim
2013 Trustee Brown Miss Tipsy Topsy Dreamaway
2012 Peg’s Pride Reverend Lovejoy Kerrific
2011 Late Night Flight Rocky Range Changing Lanes
2010 Star Risca Guyno Nellie Got There
2009 Lambton Castle Corporate Sam Sky Drama
2008 Action Pak Flight Captain Guyno
2007 Cape North Calico Blue Solar Impact
2006 Danny Blue Daka’s Gem King Wally
2005 Who Did It Blinded Pennywest
2004 Kentiara Crimson Sakura Alibi Bay
2003 Main Stage Dedicated Miss Clan Noble
2002 Chinese Arithmetic Desert Dreamer Chestnut Dream
2001 Noble Cavalier Dance Hit Special Jester