Daybreak Lover Race Information

The Daybreak Lover is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Brisbane Racing Club in April. It is held at Eagle Farm as one of the feature events of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 April 2024

Daybreak Lover Race History

See the 2024 Daybreak Lover Preview and results.

See the 2023 Daybreak Lover Preview and results.

See the 2022 Daybreak Lover Preview and results.

It was first held as a Listed race in 2006 called the QTC Daybreak Lover and was won by Grecolo. In 2010 the name became the BRC Daybreak Lover Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Vanna Girl (2020)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Daybreak Lover

Winners of past Daybreak Lovers include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Exotique Miss Transatlantic Press Link
2023 The Vowels Wolverine Bulikov
2022 Flying Crazy Green Belt Menazzi
2021 Apache Chase Mass Destruction Wolf Moon
2020 Vanna Girl Supergiant Ballistic Boy
2019 Signore Fox Malahide Ready To Prophet
2018 The Bostonian Sun Quan Winter Bride
2017 All Over Bosanova Tactical Advantage Rare Occurrence
2016 Sold For Song Salmanazar Tsaritsa
2015 No Tricks Right Or Wrong Court’s Star
2014 Sir Moments Longma Liberty’s Choice
2013 Academus Eximius Lucky Hussler
2012 Mental Venture On Double Impact
2011 Steps In Time Havatryst Benny’s Buttons
2010 Girl Hussler Tromso Latin News
2009 Youthful Jack Geeza Little Mel
2008 Tan Tat De Lago Royal Discretion Vandalo
2007 Antidotes Maslins Beach O’Crikey
2006 Grecolo Rumbird Nova Star