Cranbourne Cup Race Information

The Cranbourne Cup is a 2025 metre open handicap race run by the Cranbourne Turf Club in October. It is held at Cranbourne as part of the Victorian Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2025 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Cranbourne Racecourse, Cranbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $400,000
  • Date: Sunday 11 October 2020

Cranbourne Cup Race History

The race was first run in 1947 when it was won by a mare called Lady Antog. It became a Listed race in 1979 and was held over a distance of 2050m until 1997 and has been raced over 2025m since 1998.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Midnight Martini (2012)

Multiple winners: Index (1970 & 1971)

Fastest time (2025m): Figurehead (2001) 2:02:49

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2016 when the 10-race meeting was postponed after one race due to extremely strong wins and not held until March 2017 over a decreased distance of 1600m.

Past winners of the Cranbourne Cup

Winners of past Cranbourne Cups include Pakal (2013), Emerald Jack (2007), On A Jeune (2004), Brave Chief (2000), Big Barron (1992), and Celtic Spirit

(The 2016 Cup was actually run in March 2017 over the shorter distance of 1600m)

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Future Score Odeon Dr Drill
2019 Dr Drill Naivasha Captain Cook
2018 Octabello Sully Furrion
2017 Folkswood Berisha Grey Lion
2016(03/17) Master Reset Adirondack Great Esteem
2015 Digitalism Kareeming Index Linked
2014 Mourinho More Than Sacred Le Roi
2013 Pakal Sertorius Mourinho
2012 Midnight Martini Streets Away Streaky Fella