Conquering Stakes Race Information

The Conquering Stakes is a 1400 metre weight-for-age race run by the Tasmanian Turf Club in December. It is held at Launceston as the feature event on the programme.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Weights for age
  • Track: Launceston Racecourse, Mowbray, Tasmania
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Wednesday 16 December 2020

Conquering Stakes Race History

The race was previously run as the Premium Stakes and is registered under that name. It has also been called the Tattersall’s Stakes, Moorilla Stakes, The Stakes and the Tattsbet Stakes and was held over 1200m for many years. In 2015 it became the Conquering Stakes and the distance was increased to 1400m.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Rebel Bride (2013)

Multiple winners: I’m Wesley (2017 & 2018); Admiral (2015 & 2016); Rebel Bride (2012 & 2013)

Fastest time (1400m): I’m Wesley (2017) 1:21:55

Interesting trivia: Race not run in 2000.

Past winners of the Conquering Stakes

Winners of past Conquering Stakes include horses that go on to win major races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Toorak Affair Mystical Pursuit Mandela Effect
2019 Blaze Forth Mandela Effect Twitchy Frank
2018 I’m Wesley Count Da Vinci Lord Da Vinci
2017 I’m Wesley Hellova Street Gee Gees Top Notch
2016 Admiral Hellova Street Jerilderie Letter