City Of Adelaide Handicap Race Information

The City Of Adelaide Handicap is a 1400 metre quality handicap race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in April. It is held at Morphettville Parks as part of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Morphettville Parks Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 April 2021

City Of Adelaide Handicap Race History

The race was first held over 1600m at Morphettville in 1979 when it was won by a horse called Domax trained by Geoff Kragten and ridden by John Letts. In 1980 ir was moved to Victoria Park racecourse and remained there until 2002 apart from 1982, 1989, 2000 and 2001 when it was held at Morphettville, and 1985 when it was held over 1500m at Cheltenham. In 2003 it was transferred back to Morphettville and was held over 1522m that year then was back to 1600m from 2004 to 2009. In 2010 it mas moved to the Morphettville Parks circuit where it was held over 1550m for that year and then reduced to the current 1400m distance from 2011 onwards.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Maybe Discreet (2014)

Fastest time (1400m): Zebulon (2016) 1:22:38

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the City Of Adelaide Handicap

Winners of past City Of Adelaide Handicap include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Groundswell Morvada Master Chum
2020 A Shin Rook Dexter You Devil Hard Empire
2019 Hussybay Flying Krupt Arkham Knight
2018 Steel Frost Schism Lord Aspen
2017 Riziz Victory Downs Rocket Commander
2016 Zebulon Rocket Commander Sysmo
2015 Dylanson Defiant Angel Baligari
2014 Maybe Discreet Golden Penny Stella Lante
2013 Linton Road Warrior Isopach
2012 Verco Road Sheila’s Star Bagman
2011 Budriguez Time Matters Goon Serpent
2010 Tagus Eau De Joie I’m Discreet
2009 Dr Doute’s Dynamic Hero Testasaurus
2008 Racer’s Run Peacemaker Princess Marizza
2007 Exalted Ego Lord Of the Dance Terravue
2006 Chickaloo Exalted Ego Almost Never
2005 Merlot Now Fairessa Fly For Me
2004 Scenic Warrior Hugs Dancer Shanicity
2003 Exalted Lad Winning Spirit None For The Road
2002 Easy Landing Dandify The Ex Files
2001 None For The Road Grand Echezeaux Heaps Of Fun
2000 Brother Maya Currency Rep Graceful Encounter