Christmas Handicap Race Information

The Christmas Handicap is a 1200 metre open handicap race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in December. It is held at Morphettville as the feature race on the programme.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 9 December 2023

Christmas Handicap Race History

See the 2023 Christmas Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 Christmas Handicap Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1888 when it was won by a horse called Vanity. It was ran over 1450m up to 2008 then over 1400m from 2009 to 2014, then from 2015 onwards it has been over 1200m. It was a Group 3 race from 1979 until 2004 but from 2005 has been downgraded to a Listed race.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Princess of Queens (2018)

Multiple winners: Casino Wizard (2016 & 2017); Royal Ida (2005, 2006 & 2008); Beua George (1988 & 1989); Emblem Boy (1979 & 1980); Sunny Coronation (1963 & 1965); Matrice (1955 & 1956); Queen Baccha (1940 & 1941); Lou (1891 & 1892)

Fastest time (1200m): Casino Wizard (2017) 1:08:5

Interesting trivia: In 1921 there was a dead heat for the win between Tagala and Seal King.

Past winners of the Christmas Handicap

Winners of past Christmas Handicaps include good horses

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Struck By Morvada Starlite Valley
2022 Diamonds One More Jack Manhatten Times
2021 Outlaws Revenge Calypso Reign He’s A Balter
2020 Savatoxl Music Addition Too Good Too Hard
2019 Ef Troop Zalmona Miss Jane
2018 Princess Of Queens Mazurek Zalmona
2017 Casino Wizard Go The Journey Steel Frost
2016 Casino Wizard Lope De Capio Tarco
2015 Justify That Richie’s Vibe Sandhill Flash
2014 Boristar Exodus Streetcar Valour
2013 Dubawi Gold Streetcar Valour Pull No Punches
2012 Hidden Value Conservatorium Just Discreet
2011 Bagman Outlandish Lad Barwon Express
2010 Blahnik Outlandish Lad Rock The Moment
2009 Shekinaar Hidden Energy Moment In Time
2008 Royal Ida Danedina Keltah
2007 St Trinians Tramuntana Diamond Cove
2006 Royal Ida Bo Best Open Cut
2005 Royal Ida Exalted Ego Squillani
2004 Sky Love Rally Fly For Me
2003 Cumbria Unrocel Saint Cash Exchange
2002 Get Up Georgie Boy Devil In Disguise
2001 Ken Cheval Real Time More Action
2000 Border Time Bronze Roulette Ticket To Rome
1999 Aviate Lazing About Famous Folly