Carlyon Cup Race Information

The Carlyon Cup is a 1600 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in early February. It is held at Caulfield on CF Orr Stakes day as one of the seven black-type races on the day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 4YOs and upwards
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 10 February 2024

Carlyon Cup Race History

See the 2024 Carlyon Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Carlyon Cup Preview and results.

The race was first held as the T.S. Carlyon Cup over 2000m at Caulfield in 1977 as a Principal Race and was won by a horse called Ngawyni.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Miss Siska (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Cossack Warrior (1987); Filly – none

Multiple winners: Burning Front (2016 &2017)

Fastest time (1600m): Smokin’ Joey (2015) 1:35:6

Interesting trivia: 1978 winner Hyperno won the 1979 Melbourne Cup.

Past winners of the Carlyon Cup

Winners of past Carlyon Cups include Avilius 2019, Gailo Chop 2018, Smokin’Joey 2015, Apache Cat (2007), Northerly (2001), Toil (1996), Starstruck (1995), Veandercross (1993), Prince Salieri (1991), Super Impose (1989), Cossack Warrior (1987), Trissaro (1983), Marceau (1979), Hyperno (1978) and Ngawyni (1977).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Yonce Foxy Cleopatra Young Werther
2023 Pounding So Si Bon Sunshine Rising
2022 Earlswood Callsign Mav Spanish Mission
2021 Best Of Days Miss Siska Nonconformist
2020 Miss Siska Odeon Guizot
2019 Avilius Sikandarabad Night’s Watch
2018 Gailo Chop Harlem Lord Fandango
2017 Burning Front Humidor Tally
2016 Burning Front Red Excitement Dances On Stars
2015 Smokin’ Joey Jacquinot Bay Backstedt
2014 Chase The Rainbow Star Rolling Pakal
2013 Budriguez Invest Lord Of Brazil
2012 Manighar Shadowfax Veewap
2011 Lord Pyrus Voile Rouge Its Prince
2010 Rightfully Yours Road To Rock Delayedreaction
2009 Time Matters Marching Playright
2008 Publishing Stillme The Fuzz
2007 Apache Cat Bon Hoffa Lucky Unicorn
2006 Live In Vain Beautiful Gem Niconero
2005 Niagara Falls Lad Of The Manor Roman Arch
2004 La Sirenuse Regal Roller Makybe Diva
2003 No Deposit Walk On Air Old Man
2002 Piper Star The Secondmortgage It’s Platonic
2001 Northerly Oval Office Knockroe
2000 Skoozi Please Old Man Streak
1999 Thackery Zuccherino Royal Blue
1998 Delinquent Willoughby Marble Halls
1997 Peep On The Sly Miss Tessla Waikikamukau
1996 Toll Circles Of Gold Campaign Warrior
1995 Starstruck Corregidor Mapperley’s Star
1994 Station Hand Hear That Bell Our Tristalight
1993 Veandercross Native Neptune Springhill Lad
1992 Cool Credit Ali Boy Lord Revenir
1991 Prince Salieri Luisant Bijou Favoured Boy
1990 Marwong Kingston Rule Power Of Destiny
1989 Super Impose Dandy Andy Apollo Run
1988 Black Charleston Bahrain Happy View
1987 Cossack Warrior Celtic Heir Janneau
1986 The Vagrant Astrolin Globetrotter
1985 Astrolin Affinity I Will
1984 Admiral Lincoln What A Nuisance Exemplify
1983 Trissaro Getting Closer Silver Bounty
1982 Granite King Prince Of Brandy Foregone Conclusion
1981 Mr Independent Sky Castle La Zap
1980 There You Go He’ll Do Earthquake McGoon
1979 Marceau Marjoleo Willow Star
1978 Hyperno Ready O’Ready Clean Heels
1977 Ngawyni How Now Drumshambo