Ted Van Heemst Stakes/C B Cox Stakes Race Information

The C B Cox Stakes is a 2100 metre weight for age race run by Perth Racing held in December. It is run at Ascot as part of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2, 3YO & upwards
  • Distance: 2100 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 December 2023

C B Cox Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Ted Van Heemst Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Ted Van Heemst Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Ted Van Heemst Stakes Preview and results

The race was first held over 2400m in 1914 when it was won by a horse called Radnor.

Now known as the Ted Van Heemst Stakes.

C B Cox Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; Galaxy Star (2018)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Ihtsahymn (2013); Filly – Old Money (2000)

Multiple winners: Regal Power (2019 & 2021); Old Cobber (1997 & 1999); Haulpak’s Image (1983 & 1986); Tropical Chief (1975 & 1976); Royal Coral (1965 & 1966); Gay Balkan (1939 & 1940); Maple (1927 & 1928); Eracre (1925 & 1926)

Fastest time (2100m): Colour Correct (2010) 2:08:7

Fastest time (2400m): Saratov (1988) 2:27:80

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the C B Cox Stakes

Short-priced favourites have dominated the C.B. Cox Stakes / Ted Van Heemst Stakes results over the past decade. Notable winners include Regal Power (2019), Galaxy Star (2018), Delicacy (2015), Ihtsahymn (2013), Mr Moet (2012) and Lords Ransom (2009).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Numerian Marocchino Casino Seventeen
2022 Marocchino Steinem Ironclad
2021 Regal Power Platoon Cockney Crew
2020 Truly Great Trap For Fools Platoon
2019 Regal Power Gatting Star Exhibit
2018 Galaxy Star Gatting Perfect Jewel
2017 Pounamu Material Man Zarantz
2016 Perfect Reflection Fathoms Of Gold Ihtsahymn
2015 Delicacy Black Heart Bart Bass Strait
2014 Elite Elle Red Blast Bass Strait
2013 Ihtsahymn Kincaple Rohan
2012 Mr Moet Chester Road Road Ranger
2011 God Has Spoken Kincaple Ranger
2010 Colour Correct Admiring Big Ted
2009 Lords Ransom Largo Lad Dante’s Banquet
2008 Gilded Venom Annenkov The Fuzz
2007 Cats Fun Westerly Breeze Guyno
2006 Daka’s Gem
Scenic Shot
 * dead heat 1st Ramiro
2005 Early Express Blevvo Bon Argent
2004 Free At Last Laetare Black Tom
2003 Celtus Higgins Gold Free At Last
2002 Bold Mirage Tumeric Alibi Bay
2001 Never Blue Finito Lottila Bay
2000 Old Money Lottila Bay Grand Turismo
1999 Old Cobber Lottila Bay Kim Angel
1998 Jack Daniels Rogan Josh Master Touch
1997 Old Cobber Heed The Toll Non Aqua
1996 Beau Heed Unpretentious Storm
1995 Dark Ksar Beau Heed Field Officer
1994 Sugar Raegala Twist And Shout Bronte Story
1993 Palatious Prime Again Varo’s Last
1992 Mr Raku Red Javelin Mirror Magic
1991 Mirror Magic Red Javelin Acquired
1990 Ideal Centreman Polar Eclipse The Hippogriff
1989 Tawrrific Acquired Green Range Boy
1988 Saratov Wolveraction Muromoon
1987 Arcolad Haulpak’s Image Zio Remus
1986 Haulpak’s Image Rocket Racer Royal Sharif
1985 Amber’s Double Importune Bold Endeavour
1984 Phizam Strike Rate Interloper
1983 Haulpak’s Image Chiamare Moss Kingdom
1982 Nicholas John Bianco Lady Swift Knight
1981 Brechin Castle Allez Bijou Pearl Lover
1980 Yashmak Valerian Belle Talk
1979 Regimental Honour Sandover Medal Rothschild
1978 Meliador Arwon Caduceus
1977 Farranfore Most Rewarding Output
1976 Tropical Chief Portakali So Clear
1975 Tropical Chief Indian Shell Philomel
1974 Battle Heights Runyon Gay Master
1973 Fade Man-O-Blue Allegation
1972 Piping Lane Knee High Runyon
1971 Aubella Kendon Santa Martel
1970 Nauprius Catch Account Fait Accompli