Bunbury Stakes Race Information

The Bunbury Stakes is a 1400 metre quality handicap race run by the Bunbury Race Club in March. It is held at Bunbury on the same day as the Bunbury Cup.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Bunbury Racecourse, Bunbury, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 March 2021

Bunbury Stakes Race History

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Mekong Miss (2010)

Multiple winners: Finito (2003 & 2004)

Fastest time (1400m): Free Trade (2020) 1:22:69

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Bunbury Stakes

Winners of past Bunbury Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Western Temple Arctic Stream Luke’s Gold
2020 Free Trade The Celt Platoon
2019 Achernar Star Tellem We’re Comin Vital Silver
2018 Red Ora Oliver’s Travels Falcon Crest
2017 Man Booker Great Shot Dream Lifter
2016 Young Lionel Dream Lifter First Among Equals
2015 Black Heart Bart Danablue Dawn Approach
2014 Amorino Watermans Bay Amelias Dancer
2013 Pin Rouge In Faith Vermeer
2012 Reimbursement Mabel Grace Tranquility
2011 Proart Speccio Wolfe Dreams
2010  **Race not run **
2009 Keytomoney Hadabeclorka Captain Woodrow
2008 Universal Ruler I Command Noble Steed
2007 Royal Lott Charlie Beau Star Laser
2006 Belle Bizarre Legend Express Zanella
2005 Changing Lanes Kame’s Hope Lukaboom
2004 Finito Mapperholic Polygram
2003 Finito Mr Callahan Fred Who
2002 Old Fashion Kensyl Bay Senate Lease
2001 Fair Alert Bumbelina Zoloto
2000 Terwilliger Paddy Me Lad Over Qualified