Bobbie Lewis Quality Race Information

The Bobbie Lewis Quality is a 1200 metre quality handicap for horses four years old and upwards run by the Victoria Racing Club. It is run at Flemington in September as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 September 2023

Bobbie Lewis Quality Race History

See the 2023 Bobbie Lewis Quality Preview and results

See the 2022 Bobbie Lewis Quality Preview and results

See the 2021 Bobbie Lewis Quality Preview and results

Coming soon.

Who Was Bobbie Lewis?

Bobbie Lewis was a jockey who rode over 900 winners between 1892 to 1938. He rode in 33 Melbourne Cups and won four of them and he won 18 Derbies including eight VRC Derby’s.

Bobbie Lewis Quality Facts

Last mare to win; Lone Rock (2011)

Multiple winners: Zoutori (2019 & 2020); Bon Hoffa (2007 & 2008)

Fastest time (1200m): Cut Up Rough (1995) 1:08:6

Interesting trivia: In 2001 Calm Smytzer and Dash For Cash dead-heated for second behind Scenic Peak.

Past winners of the Bobbie Lewis Quality

Winners of past Bobbie Lewis Quality races include horses that go on to win major spring races. Most winners are four and five year olds and it is not won by a mare very often.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Star Patrol King Of Sparta Benedetta
2022 Baller Roch ‘N’ Horse Swats That
2021 Splintex Away Game The Astrologist
2020 Zoutori Banquo Tofane
2019 Zoutori Parsifal Dothraki
2018 Dothraki First Among Equals Kemono
2017 Redkirk Warrior Scales Of Justice Land Of Plenty
2016 Faatinah Tivaci We’ve Got This
2015 Churchill Dancer Under The Louvre Gregers
2014 Chautauqua Temple Of Boom In Cahoots
2013 Speediness Temple Of Boom Albrecht
2012 We’re Gonna Rock Spirit Of Boom Title
2011 Lone Rock Bel Sprinter Danzylum
2010 Doubtful Jack Beltrois About Ready
2009 Swift Alliance Gold Salute Chasm
2008 Bon Hoffa Grand Duels Orange County
2007 Bon Hoffa Swick Flash Trick
2006 Bel Danoro Perfectly Ready Volitant
2005 Wildly Calveen Classiconi
2004 Face Value Via De Lago Scaredee Cat
2003 Titanic Jack Bomber Bill The Big Chill
2002 Chong Tong Rubitano Royal Code
2001 Scenic Peak Calm Smytzer
Dash For Cash
 * dead-heat 2nd
2000 Ruthless Tycoon Porto Roca Manner Hill
1999 Le Zagaletta Bonotto Delirious
1998 El Mirada Rock You Mighty Way
1997 Great Condor Rock You Cut Up Rough
1996 Temperate Pug Another Excuse Matsqui
1995 Cut Up Rough Just Awesome Brawnt Spirit
1994 Hareeba Sequalo Poetic King
1993 Golden Sword Cocky Beau Red Hope
1992 Holiday Lover Alias Comberache Rare Chance
1991 Street Ruffian Premier Copper Rechabite
1990 Rare Chance Rechabite Grandiose
1989 Undoubted Tin Woodman Clay Hero
1988 Placid Ark Heavenly View Uncle Sid