Birthday Cup Race Information

The Birthday Cup is a 2000 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in early February. It is held at Morphettville as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 February 2021

Birthday Cup Race History

In 1979 the Queen’s Birthday Cup (now known as the Birthday Cup) was first run as a Stakes Race over 2 miles (about 3200m) at Victoria Park and won by a horse called Richmond who was an Australian Cup and AJC Derby winner.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Tingirana (2007)

Multiple winners: Skybeau (1999 & 2000); Chatspa (1947, 1949 & 1950); Navarino (1937 & 1938)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Birthday Cup

Winners of past Birthday Cups include horses that go on to win major autumn races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Declares War Eperdument Medieval Miss
2020 Master Chum Hasta La War Jackthegiantslayer
2019 Wasabi Bob Excessabeel Royal Rumble
2018 Exalted Lightning Jim’s Journey Addison
2017 Mail It In Extra Zero Flow Meter
2016 Go Dreaming Jim’s Journey Gamblin’ Guru