ATC Trophy Race Information

The ATC Trophy is a 1200 metre quality handicap race run by the Gold Coast Turf Club in May. It is held on Hollindale Stakes day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Gold Coast Racecourse, Bundall, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 11 May 2024

Australian Turf Club Trophy Race History

See the 2024 ATC Trophy Preview and results.

See the 2023 ATC Trophy Preview and results.

This race was first held in 1974 as the Prime Minister’s Cup over 2400m at the Gold Coast. It was the best known of the Gold Coast races prior to the Magic Millions carnival. It was a Group 2 race and was used as a lead-up to the Doomben Cup and the Brisbane Cup. It was downgraded to a Listed race in 2006 and became a sprint race over 1400m. It was run as the Gold Coast Cup in 2018 then changed name to the Australian Turf Club Trophy.

Two serving Prime Ministers have attended the meeting – Malcolm Fraser in 19882 and John Howard in 1999.

Held at Sunshine Coast in 2023 while redevelopment of the Gold Coast track was completed, then held there again in 2024 due to significant rain.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win:

Multiple winners: Avitt (1982, 1983 & 1984).

Interesting trivia: Prized Gem completed the Prime Ministers Cup – Brisbane Cup double in 2002.

Past winners of the ATC Trophy

Winners of past ATC Trophy races include Soxagon (2022).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 At Witz End Yellow Brick Freedom Rally
2023 Fifteen Rounds Palaisipan Ef Troop
2022 Soxagon Last Chance Salateen
2021 Flash Aah Top Prospect Socialising
2020 ** Race not run **    
2019 Coldstone Music Magnate Malvern Estate
2018 Dreams Aplenty Aqua Vite Charlie Boy
2017 Religify Siegfried Federal
2016 Coolring Snippets Land Jumbo Prince
2015 Neo Ninth Legion Gundy Sporot
2014 Dances On Stars Final Crescendo Benny’s Buttons
2013 Famous Seamus River Lad Fire Up Fifi
2012 Celtic Dancer Mid Summer Music Phelan Ready
2011 Tampiko Fire Of Magic Fifteen Carat
2010 Drenalin Mr Baritone Secrets Untold
2009 Mr Hornblower Rightfully Yours El Cambio
2008 Helideck Hard To Catch Easy Rocker
2007 The Jackal Daunting Lad Mr Hornblower
2006 Hard To Catch Daunting Lad Devil
2005 Sir Dex Perlin Regal Punch
2004 Vanquished Make Me A Miracle Comforts
2003 Lauriinel Argie Homewrecker Piachay
2002 Prized Gem Blanchard Restless
2001 Inaflury Mr Smug Vitrinite
2000 My Duke Kazakh Belle Kugelhopf