Ascot Gold Cup Race Information

The Ascot Gold Cup is an 1800 metre open handicap race for horses three-years-old and up run by the Western Australian Turf Club in November. It is held at Ascot as part of the Perth Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1800 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 11 November 2023

Ascot Gold Cup Race History

See the 2023 Luckygray Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Luckygray Stakes (Ascot Gold Cup) Preview and results.

In 2022 the race is being run as the Luckygray Stakes.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: ? (?)

Last 3YO to win: C&G –  ; Filly –

Multiple winners: Pop Culture (2012 & 2014);.

Fastest time (1800m): Sentenza (2008) 1:49:32

Interesting trivia: 

Past winners of the Ascot Gold Cup

Winners of past Ascot Gold Cups often go on to contest events in the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Another Chino Pompey Queen Alina
2022 Buster Bash Bad Wolf Billy Ray
2021 Midnight Blue Bad Wolf Playing Marika
2020 Too Close The Sun Utgard Loki Royal Command
2019 Taxagano Forceful Missile Launch
2018 Prize Catch Elegant Blast Dark Musket
2017 Gatting Dark Alert Ihtsahymn
2016 Tonto Bedamijo Dark Alert
2015 Drive West Young Lionel Rebelson
2014 Pop Culture Rebelson Fancy Feet
2013 Moonlight Bay Finnegans Gold Doutable
2012 Pop Culture Rosie Rocket Moonlight Bay
2011 Rocky Range Gum Nut Guru Mega Steel
2010 Colour Correct West River Charley Mighty Rossa
2009 Corporate Sam Mikaldico Geyser Peak
2008 Sentenza Upgrade Mikaldico
2007 Cat In A Hat Black Douglas Rossam
2006 Zero Engagement Woodala Master Vision
2005 My Thornbird Blevvo Power Mak
2004 True Steel Laetare Zakarak
2003 Desert Dreamer True Steel Bold Mirage
2002 Alibi Bay Mr Tambourineman Dynaliebe
2001 Special Jester So Canny Master Clan
2000 National Surprise Zaruche Lottila Bay