Anniversary Vase Race Information

The Anniversary Vase is a 1600 metre quality handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in late April. It is held at Caulfield at the end of the Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Sandown Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 March 2024

Anniversary Vase Race History

See the 2023 Anniversary Vase Preview and results.

The race has been around since at least 2003. It seems to have become a Listed race in 2006 when it was won by Niconero trained by David Hayes and ridden by Nash Rawiller. In 2023 it was run over 1400m at Sandown Hillside. In 2024 the distance was increased to 1600m.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Still A Star (2014)

Fastest time (1400m): Delayedreaction (2021) 1:22:39

Interesting trivia: Held at Sandwon Hillside in 2022.

Past winners of the Anniversary Vase

Winners of past Anniversary Vases include some handy middle distance horses.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 First Immortal The Summit Nugget
2023 Cardinal Gem Buffalo River Flash Aah
2022 Regardsmaree Buffalo River Excelida
2021 Still A Star Missile Mantra Riddle Me That
2020 Guizot Scarlet Dream Hellova Street
2019 Naantali Manolo Blahniq Kemono
2018 Fastnet Tempest Rhythm To Spare Land Of Plenty
2017 Star Exhibit Charmed Harmony Top Me Up
2016 Precious Gem Sistine Demon Enquare
2015 Amorino Under The Louvre Marianne
2014 Reparations Loot ‘N’ Run Dany The Fox
2013 Speediness Parthian Club Command
2012 Utah Saints Dusty Star Freereturn
2011 Zedi Knight Carrara Lady Lynette
2010 Delayedreaction Berringama Electromotive
2009 Skiddaw Peak Sound Journey Pinnacles
2008 Coniston Gem Laura’s Charm El Pauji
2007 Mind Your Head Jayemzed Amerryking
2006 Niconero Oamuru Storm Strikeline
2005 Roman Arch Mr Murphy Force Apollo
2004 Debrief Regal Roller Monahan Tweed
2003 Karamazou North Boy Desert Sky